• Page 1 of 1
  • 1
uCoz Community » uCoz Modules » Web Polls, Guestbook and Tests » How to make fields a required (*) field to be filled-up (Required Entry)
How to make fields a required (*) field to be filled-up
Bendcat
Posts: 24
Reputation: 0

Message # 1 | 8:23 AM
Hi Admin

How can I make other fields like Email, ICQ, City and other fields at Guestbook Entry to be a required field.

I'm guessing it will be inside the code of $ERROR$ after clicking the submit button.

How can make it a required field? I already tried to look into Guestbook >> Module Settings but there is only 1 box on each field.

Thanks in advance.


My Clan Website:
http://prophecy.ucoz.com/

My Company Website:
http://pureskin.com.ph/

.

Post edited by Bendcat - Wednesday, 2011-03-30, 8:25 AM
Animorph
Posts: 2856
Reputation: 189

Message # 2 | 12:00 PM
Bendcat, i'm afraid that that is not possible to do , but you can suggest it here :
http://forum.ucoz.com/forum/24

Note: read the sugegstion rules before making a suggestion.


To busy building a passive income online ;)
Natashko
Posts: 3366
Reputation: 171

Message # 3 | 2:27 PM
Bendcat, there is no standard system solution for that, but it can be accomplished by means of script usage.
Bendcat
Posts: 24
Reputation: 0

Message # 4 | 5:57 AM
Animorph, Thanks man, I'll try to make suggestion.

Natashko, Hmm.. ok I'll try to find some ways if that would be effective. But I'll be very thankful if you could show me how can it be done on script, without conflicting the $ERROR$ of uCoz, and it could help others too in this thread. Thanks.


My Clan Website:
http://prophecy.ucoz.com/

My Company Website:
http://pureskin.com.ph/

.

Post edited by Bendcat - Thursday, 2011-03-31, 5:58 AM
Natashko
Posts: 3366
Reputation: 171

Message # 5 | 10:34 AM
Bendcat, unfortunately we do not provide help with custom coding.
Bendcat
Posts: 24
Reputation: 0

Message # 6 | 11:17 AM
I think this is still related to the topic on how to make fields a required fields on Guestbook.

This is the code I would like to put

Code


<!--  ONCLICK  notEmpty(elem, helperMsg)  -->

function notEmpty(elem, helperMsg)
{
   if(elem.value.length == 0)
          {
    alert(helperMsg);
    elem.focus(); // set the focus to this input
    return false;
   }
   return true;
}

But the problem is the FORM name and the INPUT name for text is NOT given.

.

Code from Adding New Message @GuestBook

Code

<table border="0" width="100%" cellspacing="1" cellpadding="2" class="commTable">
<tbody><tr><td class="commTd2" colspan="2">$ERROR$</td></tr>
<?if(!$USER_LOGGED_IN$)?>
<tr><td class="commTd1" width="15%" nowrap="">Name<font color=red>*</font> :</td><td class="commTd2">$NAME_FL$</td></tr>
<?if($EMAIL_FL$)?><tr><td class="commTd1">Email<font color=red>*</font> :</td><td class="commTd2">$EMAIL_FL$</td></tr><?endif?>
<?if($WWW_FL$)?><tr><td class="commTd1">Facebook Link:</td><td class="commTd2">$WWW_FL$</td></tr><?endif?>
<?endif?>
<?if($ICQ_FL$)?><tr><td width="15%" class="commTd1">ICQ:</td><td class="commTd2">$ICQ_FL$</td></tr><?endif?>
<?if($COUNTRY_FL$)?><tr><td width="15%" class="commTd1">IGN<font color=red>*</font> :</td><td class="commTd2">$COUNTRY_FL$</td></tr><?endif?>
<?if($CITY_FL$)?><tr><td width="15%" class="commTd1" nowrap="">City, Country<font color=red>*</font> :</td><td class="commTd2">$CITY_FL$</td></tr><?endif?>
<?if($STATE_FL$)?><tr><td width="15%" class="commTd1">IG Class<font color=red>*</font> :</td><td class="commTd2">$STATE_FL$</td></tr><?endif?>
<tr><td class="commTd2" colspan="2"><div style="padding-bottom:2px">$BBCODES$</div><table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"><tbody><tr><td valign="top">$MESSAGE_FL$<br><span style="color: rgb(255, 215, 0);">Do the same format as shown below:</span><br><table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%" style="-webkit-border-horizontal-spacing: 1px; -webkit-border-vertical-spacing: 1px; "><tbody><tr><td valign="top" style="border-top-color: rgb(215, 215, 215); border-right-color: rgb(215, 215, 215); border-bottom-color: rgb(215, 215, 215); border-left-color: rgb(215, 215, 215); border-top-width: 1px; border-right-width: 1px; border-bottom-width: 1px; border-left-width: 1px; border-top-style: dotted; border-right-style: dotted; border-bottom-style: dotted; border-left-style: dotted; "><span style="color: #8dc63f;"><b>IGN</b>:</span> <s>myInGameName</s><br><span style="color: #8dc63f;"><b>City, Country</b>:</span> <s>myCITY, myCOUNTRY</s><br><span style="color: #8dc63f;"><b>IG Class</b>:</span> <s>myInGameClass</s><br>- your remarks or other information to share -</td></tr></tbody></table></td><?if($SMILES$)?><td width="5%" valign="top" align="center" style="padding-left:3px;">$SMILES$</td><?endif?></tr></tbody></table></td></tr>
<?if($SECURITY_FL$)?><tr><td class="commTd1">Code* :</td><td class="commTd2">$SECURITY_FL$</td></tr><?endif?>
<tr><td class="commTd2" colspan="2" align="center"><br><input class="commSbmFl" type="submit" id="gbsbm" value="- SUBMIT APPLICATION -"></td></tr>
</tbody></table>

How can I put my javascript if this code shown above is not giving the information about FORM name and INPUT name? is there other way around?

.


My Clan Website:
http://prophecy.ucoz.com/

My Company Website:
http://pureskin.com.ph/

.

Post edited by Bendcat - Friday, 2011-04-01, 11:18 AM
Natashko
Posts: 3366
Reputation: 171

Message # 7 | 11:55 AM
Bendcat, I suggest you use Firebug to see the information you need or see the resource code of the generated page.
uCoz Community » uCoz Modules » Web Polls, Guestbook and Tests » How to make fields a required (*) field to be filled-up (Required Entry)
  • Page 1 of 1
  • 1
Search: