Page 4 of 7«1234567»
uCoz Community » uCoz Modules » Additional Features » Banner Rotator (creation, settings)
Banner Rotator
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 1 | 10:01 AM
Banner Rotator is a feature that permits to display several banners at one spot in random order.

Before you create a banner you must first create at least one category. Then click on the button Add banner.

Banner type: See the description below.

Banner name: This is an internal name, for you to distinguish one banner form another. So give your banners informative names.

Category: A category combines banners into one unit, i.e. if you insert a category script on a page different banners from this one category will be shown in one place.

Full URL of banner image: Here you must enter full URL of a banner image.

Width/height: If all 7 images are of the same size you can set their size, different from the real one. If you leave the fields blank an image will be displayed in its real size.

Site address (URL): Here you must enter the URL of a site which must open when someone clicks on the banner. You can also select the following option – open in a new window (_blank), in the current window (_top).

Text to be displayed under the banner: Any text that describes the image.

Priority: the higher the priority is, the more often the banner is displayed.
You can set Initial number of exposures: and Initial number of clicks:
You can also limit banner exposure by setting the Max. number of exposures: and Max. number of clicks:

A banner may be displayed not immediately: you can set Starting date of banner exposure: and can limit the exposure by setting Expire date of banner exposure: or Weekdays when the banner is exposed:

The form changes depending on a banner type.
1. If a banner is a .jpg, .gif, .png image then the system adds an IMG tag to the image URL, and the form looks like this:

2. If it is a flash banner the system adds an EMBED tag to the image URL, and the form looks like this:

3. If a banner is a simple hyperlink text the system displays this text as a link, and the form looks like this:

4. If you want to add some other code select the banner type “Full code” and the system will display it as it is, and the form will look like this:

Don’t forget to select a category of the banner.

One and the same banner can have up to 7 different images which will be displayed in turn.


I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
uCozForum
Posts: 15
Reputation: 0

Message # 46 | 4:51 PM
Quote (Sunny)
Site address (URL): Here you must enter the URL of a site which must open when someone clicks on the banner. You can also select the following option – open in a new window (_blank), in the current window (_top). If you don’t enter a URL just an image will be displayed. It also influences the text under the banner, it won’t be a hyperlink as well.

When I don't enter a URL to Site address (URL), I get this error:


No site address (URL) specified

I just want to add a picture that change when refreshing the page, not an ad or something, so I don't need a URL.

And I don't want to give a link to my site too because it is not a logo or something.

How can I create a banner rotator without a link?

Attachments: 1351854.png(1Kb)
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 47 | 10:20 AM
uCozForum, it turns that the tutorial is a bit out-of-date, I will edit it. A banner must be clickable by definition. I suggest that you use "Image slideshow" widget for your purposes. The thread about widgets is here: http://forum.ucoz.com/forum/37-5598-1
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
uCozForum
Posts: 15
Reputation: 0

Message # 48 | 11:03 AM
Sunny, The widget "Image Slidshow" is not like the Banner Rotator.

Banner rotator change the image only when going to another page in my site or refreshing the page.
Image Slideshow change the image every few seconds(without refreshing or anything).

I want the image to change only when refreshing the page or going to another page on the site, not every few seconds.

Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 49 | 11:06 AM
uCozForum, then you can either use clickable images or search for third-party solutions on the Internet.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
sachtructuyen
Posts: 28
Reputation: 0

Message # 50 | 6:58 AM
I read and did all follow all instructions above. But my banner still not work. It only display the text under the banner.
You can see the problem in Images i attach below:

Attachments: 2484058.jpg(193Kb) · 5249665.jpg(305Kb) · 3376300.jpg(311Kb)

^^ B what U wanna B ^^
Post edited by sachtructuyen - Thursday, 2010-12-23, 6:59 AM
Natashko
Posts: 3366
Reputation: 171

Message # 51 | 2:47 PM
sachtructuyen, provide a website name as well as the link to the page where banner rotator is being displayed.
sachtructuyen
Posts: 28
Reputation: 0

Message # 52 | 3:13 PM
My website name : http://thegioisach.ucoz.com

The link i want to embed banner: http://thegioisach.ucoz.com/index/gi_i_thi_u_thegioisach/0-12

My banner is in GIF format!

pls help me to solve my problem. Thank you very much.


^^ B what U wanna B ^^
Natashko
Posts: 3366
Reputation: 171

Message # 53 | 4:09 PM
sachtructuyen, the link to the image in the banner rotator is wrong. Instead of http://flic.kr/p/93Y6tc use http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5004/5284431805_327ff7ffc0_m.jpg It should be in the field "Full URL of banner image:"
sachtructuyen
Posts: 28
Reputation: 0

Message # 54 | 2:22 AM
thank you! i'll try again.
^^ B what U wanna B ^^
rajapk12
Posts: 13
Reputation: 0

Message # 55 | 8:23 AM
How to add Banner Rotator Code In to Global Block
Natashko
Posts: 3366
Reputation: 171

Message # 56 | 8:51 AM
rajapk12,
Quote (rajapk12)
How to add Banner Rotator Code In to Global Block

go to Main » Banner rotator->if you press "New category" or "Add banner" - "Get the code" button will appear. Use the generated for you code to add it to your Global Block
Arctiic
Posts: 5
Reputation: 0

Message # 57 | 2:10 AM
The banner rotator doesn't work , though. All it does is display one image, then once u refresh it displays another one.
Paradox
Posts: 3276
Reputation: 145

Message # 58 | 2:31 AM
Arctiic, the function of the banner rotator is to only show a different image every time a user refreshes the page. If you are wanting images to change without the user refreshing the page you can use the image slidewhow widget or create an animated banner.
Developer, Designer, Communicator.
Been here for 6 years and counting.
Visit me at alexmoloney.me.
Hope
Posts: 183
Reputation: 0

Message # 59 | 12:11 PM
Hi,

I have add a builder for "banner rotator", however, the slide "webshop snapshots" doesn't show up properly.

http://lookazinehk.com/

The url embedded is here: http://siteground263.com/~cresignl/banner/Album.swf
Natashko
Posts: 3366
Reputation: 171

Message # 60 | 2:53 PM
Hope, we believe that the links to the images are wrong. Substitute the links to the images with global links.
uCoz Community » uCoz Modules » Additional Features » Banner Rotator (creation, settings)
Page 4 of 7«1234567»
Search: