Page 29 of 32«12272829303132»
uCoz Community » uCoz Modules » Additional Features » Informers (help on informers, interesting solutions)
Informers
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 1 | 10:09 AM
# Informer Samples #

Informers serve to display entries of particular modules on any pages of any sites. For example, you can output the latest forum threads or most commented photos right on the main page. This helps to make your site more interesting and handy for the visitors.

To create an Informer:

1. Go to Informers section on the main page of the Control Panel.

2. Press Create informer.

3. Select necessary module in the field with the pop-down list. (Additional options will appear depending on a module).

4. Set parameters of the options Number of entries and Number of columns.

5. Press Create.

6. Insert the obtained code of the type

Code
$MYINF_id$
where you need.

7. Informer appearance and the information for output can be edited in informer template. Type of information (uCoz codes) depends on the source module. List of codes, available for a certain informer, is under the form for editing template.

With the help of the informer, you can output information both on pages of your website and on any other site in the internet.

There are no explanations for the codes, used in informer template. This is because informers are a serious thing and you should not edit informers without good knowledge of HTML and uCoz system.



Question-answer

Where should I put the code of informer?
Control Panel -> Design -> Design management(templates).

***
How can I find out ID of an entry?
View list of entries or categories and you’ll find their IDs.

***
Is it possible to output entries in random order?
Yes, when you select a type of entries sorting you can choose the item "In random order".

***
Is it possible to make $ID$ code in the informer with Photo Album, because photos often have no names?
Do not output a name at all.

***
How can I output an image, belonging to the news entry, in the informer?
Edit informer template and insert a variable that will display the image.

***
Is it possible not to output in the news informer the news entries that are on the main page?
No.

***
Is it possible to do the following: the informer starts to count users’ messages form a certain time and does not take into account earlier messages?
No.


I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
phuket
Posts: 22
Reputation: 0

Message # 421 | 5:37 PM
I want to create a List Entries with Informer, but Informer limit by 300 entries. Can it show more entries? I need an automatic list.
Sorry for bad english
Paradox
Posts: 3276
Reputation: 145

Message # 422 | 3:45 AM
phuket, unfortunately informers do have a maximum output limit which is unsurpassable. Why are you unable to simply use the module home page to list entries? What exactly is this entry list functioning as on your site?
Developer, Designer, Communicator.
Been here for 6 years and counting.
Visit me at alexmoloney.me.
phuket
Posts: 22
Reputation: 0

Message # 423 | 9:26 AM
Our site work on translate anime, a lot of work and people add entry by themself, it quite hard for me to manage it all with just html
What did i need was a list entry that
- It show all of our anime project in one page (in my country, almost people use chrome and firefox, and they like Crlt+F),
- It short form A-Z
- It has image and description
- It automatic
Anyway, i will try another way, thanks Paradox
rys3r
Posts: 179
Reputation: 5

Message # 424 | 3:52 PM
How can I show the last entries (blog, board, dir, etc.) of a user in their profile page?
Post edited by rys3r - Tuesday, 2014-10-21, 3:53 PM
Eriko
Pokémon Master
Posts: 958
Reputation: 33

Message # 425 | 4:03 AM
rys3r, do you mean their own blogs? DIR? etc?
Paradox
Posts: 3276
Reputation: 145

Message # 426 | 1:45 PM
rys3r, at the current moment there's no standard system feature to achieve this, however, from what I've seen and done during past development it's best achievable using the user entry listings as iframes. It can be buggy at the best of times depending on how well programmed it is and how the server's feeling but it's the most viable regular solution I've found to date.

I haven't considered an API/PHP solution yet, however, I believe it may be possible depending on your experience with server side languages, the uCoz system, and the appropriate programming concepts.

Developer, Designer, Communicator.
Been here for 6 years and counting.
Visit me at alexmoloney.me.
rys3r
Posts: 179
Reputation: 5

Message # 427 | 0:45 AM
Eriko, Yes. Something like you have on your website in profile pages.

Added (2014-10-23, 11:45 PM)
---------------------------------------------
Paradox, thanks for the advice.

Eriko
Pokémon Master
Posts: 958
Reputation: 33

Message # 428 | 0:49 AM
I use jQuery:
Code

<div class="PhotoEntries">Loading...</div>
<script>
$(function(){
     $(".PhotoEntries").load("$_PHOTO_ACTIVITY_URL$ .photof_ProfileCall");
});
</script>


For the code above I'm calling the class photof_ProfileCall from the $_PHOTO_ACTIVITY_URL$.

For more information about .load function:
http://api.jquery.com/load/
rys3r
Posts: 179
Reputation: 5

Message # 429 | 4:06 PM
Eriko, can you tell me how to apply the code to get it working in one module (ex. board module)?
I really appreciate your help.
boooutheghost
Posts: 9
Reputation: 0

Message # 430 | 6:17 PM
I was wondering how could i post an Informer with enetrys from publisher to have images on? Can someone explain this and please don't answer "edit your template code" if i known that i wouldn't ask.
bigblog
*boops*
Posts: 1475
Reputation: 71

Message # 431 | 6:19 PM
boooutheghost, you have to use $IMG_URL1$ variable in this format:

Code
<img src="$IMG_URL1$" />

hey i'm joe, please don't call me on my real name because you're gonna misspell or mispronounce it and it drives me nuts

i do not work for the company anymore, sorry for the late replies
themarchello
Posts: 1
Reputation: 0

Message # 432 | 7:18 PM
Hi UCOZ comunity, I'm having problems with INFORMERS & GROUP PERMISSIONS.

Somehow INFORMER "Latest updated threads (FORUM)" stopped working when changing USER GROUP PERMISSIONS! Which CHECKBOX in all permissions is responding on displaying this module for different user groups?

Anyone have any idea on this?
Post edited by themarchello - Sunday, 2015-02-01, 7:33 PM
bigblog
*boops*
Posts: 1475
Reputation: 71

Message # 433 | 7:33 AM
Quote themarchello ()
stopped working

What do you mean exactly by this? The informer will be not displayed to that user groups who have not access to view the Forum module.

hey i'm joe, please don't call me on my real name because you're gonna misspell or mispronounce it and it drives me nuts

i do not work for the company anymore, sorry for the late replies
kankukong
Posts: 95
Reputation: 0

Message # 434 | 5:35 AM
about problem informer section forum


sorting mode, I think more should be part sorted by most view threads

or admin can perform this script please guide me
Korijs
Posts: 250
Reputation: 5

Message # 435 | 7:54 AM
untill now I don't understand why uCoz informers are so limited - just 30..

it's in order to avoid overload or what?

it could be great to give at least +10 more informers, but as I see my suggestion some years ago in suggestion thread did not receive approval

there are 19 kind of informers + tens of other options in the most of informers (comments, views, loads etc.)
Post edited by Korijs - Tuesday, 2015-02-10, 7:57 AM
uCoz Community » uCoz Modules » Additional Features » Informers (help on informers, interesting solutions)
Page 29 of 32«12272829303132»
Search: