Page 5 of 32«12345673132»
uCoz Community » uCoz Modules » Additional Features » Informers (help on informers, interesting solutions)
Informers
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 1 | 10:09 AM
# Informer Samples #

Informers serve to display entries of particular modules on any pages of any sites. For example, you can output the latest forum threads or most commented photos right on the main page. This helps to make your site more interesting and handy for the visitors.

To create an Informer:

1. Go to Informers section on the main page of the Control Panel.

2. Press Create informer.

3. Select necessary module in the field with the pop-down list. (Additional options will appear depending on a module).

4. Set parameters of the options Number of entries and Number of columns.

5. Press Create.

6. Insert the obtained code of the type

Code
$MYINF_id$
where you need.

7. Informer appearance and the information for output can be edited in informer template. Type of information (uCoz codes) depends on the source module. List of codes, available for a certain informer, is under the form for editing template.

With the help of the informer, you can output information both on pages of your website and on any other site in the internet.

There are no explanations for the codes, used in informer template. This is because informers are a serious thing and you should not edit informers without good knowledge of HTML and uCoz system.



Question-answer

Where should I put the code of informer?
Control Panel -> Design -> Design management(templates).

***
How can I find out ID of an entry?
View list of entries or categories and you’ll find their IDs.

***
Is it possible to output entries in random order?
Yes, when you select a type of entries sorting you can choose the item "In random order".

***
Is it possible to make $ID$ code in the informer with Photo Album, because photos often have no names?
Do not output a name at all.

***
How can I output an image, belonging to the news entry, in the informer?
Edit informer template and insert a variable that will display the image.

***
Is it possible not to output in the news informer the news entries that are on the main page?
No.

***
Is it possible to do the following: the informer starts to count users’ messages form a certain time and does not take into account earlier messages?
No.


I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
papp0us
Posts: 21
Reputation: 0

Message # 61 | 5:41 PM
1 more question plz!:P i've an informer as "forum updates" to show in the main page the latest replies but it's reeeeeaaaalyyy slow in refreshing..after a new reply is posted it needs more than half an hour to show the new post in the informer...any idea???
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 62 | 7:58 AM
papp0us, Informer refreshes within 15 minutes. If you want it to refresh immediately, you can simply resave it.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Abhay
Posts: 1
Reputation: 0

Message # 63 | 12:11 PM
i wanted to create an informer, "Most Popular Threads", but instead of sorting it with maximum replies, i want to sort it with maximum views. So what do i have to change in the informer's template?
Can anyone help? sad

Regards,
Abhay

Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 64 | 3:12 PM
Abhay, I am afraid that is not possible.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
guitarmantra
Posts: 30
Reputation: 5

Message # 65 | 7:12 PM
Recently I transfered all contents from main page to new page. But I am not able to get that new page selection in section in informer.
Plz admin or Armaros..Guide me plz

Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 66 | 8:21 AM
guitarmantra, if you couldn't find this option it means there is no such option. Informers don't display info from pages created via Page Editor.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
itseeker
Posts: 29
Reputation: 0

Message # 67 | 4:11 PM
HI.. all

I know how to use informers...

i want to add them to my main page, with images, so that when a guest comes he get a preview of my last topic in the main page..

This is the code of my informer.

Quote

<li><a href="$THREAD_URL$">$THREAD_TITLE$</a> <span>($REPLIES$)</span><div style="font:7pt" align="$right">[<a href="$FORUM_URL$">$FORUM$</a>]</div></li>

i want result like this...

Post edited by itseeker - Thursday, 2009-06-04, 4:20 PM
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 68 | 8:36 AM
itseeker, each informer template has a list of available codes below. However there is no image $code$ for forum.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
John5771
Posts: 1
Reputation: 0

Message # 69 | 3:01 PM
How can i make my informer to ouput randomly? This are the only available options. Proceed to the url for the link of my screenshot, thx http://i40.tinypic.com/x53488.jpg
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 70 | 3:23 PM
John5771, there is the option "In random order" when creating an informer, but there is no such option when editing it... I am not sure whether it must be so or not, but I'll ask. Re-create your informer and select the option you need.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Krishna
Posts: 11
Reputation: 0

Message # 71 | 10:39 AM
aah..
see
i want
informers
like

>>>Download Categories
Games(0)
Movies(23)
Software(12)
like these
i have added 1 informer
so it is now
>>>Download Categories
Games(0)
but whn i add 2nd informer its cming like
>>>Download Categories
Games(0)
Games(0)
i hope u got it
please reply


..True Love For Me Means Just U..
Post edited by Krishna - Wednesday, 2009-06-17, 10:42 AM
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 72 | 11:02 AM
Krishna, you want all download categories to be in one informer?
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Krishna
Posts: 11
Reputation: 0

Message # 73 | 11:24 AM
See
i know 1 informer will show 1 thng..
i have 1 informer wch show game
but i want another informer wch will show
movies
i want to create 5-6 informer with different names
like ,Pc,PSP,Movies,Songs etc etc
now that first informer also missing sad
dont mind me new in these thngs

i want in my categories widget
that
Categories
PC(1 informer)
Xbox(1 informer)
Movies(1 informer)
so what i have to do
?
can u please make a picture tutorial?
please


..True Love For Me Means Just U..
Post edited by Krishna - Wednesday, 2009-06-17, 11:31 AM
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 74 | 2:36 PM
Krishna, so you want a block with the list of all categories like here - _http://onlinegames.ucoz.com/ Then do the following:

1. CP -> Informers -> Create informer
2. Section - File catalog; Data type - Categories; Number of columns - 1. That's all.
3. Go to your website -> Enable builder -> Add block -> "Edit" icon -> Select the created informer -> Save


I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Krishna
Posts: 11
Reputation: 0

Message # 75 | 4:02 PM
Quote (Sunny)
-> Add block -> "Edit" icon -> Select the created informer -> Save

i did
the same thng
but its not showing in webpage.
Attachments: 8999115.jpg(31Kb)

..True Love For Me Means Just U..
uCoz Community » uCoz Modules » Additional Features » Informers (help on informers, interesting solutions)
Page 5 of 32«12345673132»
Search: