Page 2 of 9«123489»
uCoz Community » uCoz Modules » Additional Features » Sitemap
Sitemap
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 1 | 2:50 PM
Now uCoz has it’s own feature for creating Sitemap files.


How to use Sitemap feature

Step one 1. Site search module is installed by default and is a required module. Sitemap is created automatically for a website and for a forum in the File Manager.

You will be able to find two new files in the root folder of File Manager: sitemap.xml and, if you have a forum, sitemap-forum.xml.



Sitemap is updated automatically once per 2-3 days on conditions that the information on the website has been changed.


Step 2. Now you need to get the obtained files to search engines. Let’s take Google as an example.

Google. Go to Webmaster Tools, select a website or add a new one. Click “Add” under Sitemap -> enter your Sitemap url and click Submit sitemap.





After the files have been checked and indexed, the links from Sitemap will appear in search engines at the next update.

I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Tia
Posts: 27
Reputation: -1

Message # 16 | 1:28 AM
I wanted to change my site-map (instead http://mysitename.com/blog... i need http://www.mysitename.com/blog... ) - because google didn't submit my sitemap saying it has to be changed, so i uploaded a new file (changed sitemap) to the file manager, it replaced the old one, but www disappeared again...
sad what to do?

Thank you.

Added (2009-09-21, 7:28 Pm)
---------------------------------------------
or maybe the old sitemap was not replaced by a new one...maybe the new one just disappeared (there is only one in file manager)...

RKxL
Posts: 27
Reputation: 2

Message # 17 | 4:43 AM
Tia, i cant understand u much anyway default ucoz sitemap url is http://YOURDOMAIN/sitemap.xml and forum sitemap is http://YOURDOMAIN/sitemap-forum.xml
using http://www or using http:// will not effect for sitemap submit
try update ur sitemap (control panel of ur site --> Site Search --> Update Site Map file) then submit it again to google, make sure u type the correct sitemap name

i hope this help u at least a little smile


•Give Respect to Get Respect
Forgive me for my inactivity, I'm very busy with my work.
Tia
Posts: 27
Reputation: -1

Message # 18 | 5:18 AM
i updated my sitemap, but still the same problem. Look what i got from yahoo after submitting my sitemap:

Paths don't match
We've detected that you submitted your Sitemap using a URL path that includes the www prefix (for instance, http://www.example.com/sitemap.xml ). However, the URLs listed inside your Sitemap don't use the www prefix (for instance, http://example.com/myfile.htm ).

RKxL
Posts: 27
Reputation: 2

Message # 19 | 5:35 AM
Tia, on both yahoo and google u just need to type or copy-paste the sitemap name to the field like this. if u type the sitemap name correctly that's very easy and doesn't take much time to do that so u must be doing something wrong take a loot at these screenshots

Yahoo Add Feed

Google Submit Sitemap


•Give Respect to Get Respect
Forgive me for my inactivity, I'm very busy with my work.
Tia
Posts: 27
Reputation: -1

Message # 20 | 5:45 AM
that's exactly what i did! I have no idea what could be wrong....i resubmitted site map 3 times already - google gives me the same error...
RKxL
Posts: 27
Reputation: 2

Message # 21 | 5:48 AM
can u open ur sitemap in ur browser ?
•Give Respect to Get Respect
Forgive me for my inactivity, I'm very busy with my work.
Tia
Posts: 27
Reputation: -1

Message # 22 | 5:58 AM
sure i can. and google can, but as i showed before they need www in every link (in the sitemap):

Paths don't match
We've detected that you submitted your Sitemap using a URL path that includes the www prefix (for instance, http://www.example.com/sitemap.xml ). However, the URLs listed inside your Sitemap don't use the www prefix (for instance, http://example.com/myfile.htm ).

RKxL
Posts: 27
Reputation: 2

Message # 23 | 6:20 AM
how is ur site url added to google webmaster dash board ? is it with www or without www ?
•Give Respect to Get Respect
Forgive me for my inactivity, I'm very busy with my work.
Tia
Posts: 27
Reputation: -1

Message # 24 | 6:24 AM
with www...do u think that's the problem?
RKxL
Posts: 27
Reputation: 2

Message # 25 | 6:27 AM
hmm I think u should add ur site url in http:// format instead of http://www
give it a try

•Give Respect to Get Respect
Forgive me for my inactivity, I'm very busy with my work.
Tia
Posts: 27
Reputation: -1

Message # 26 | 6:31 AM
You r the the best! Sitemap is finally submitted...no pages indexed sad , but at least my sitemap is there
Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!
RKxL
Posts: 27
Reputation: 2

Message # 27 | 6:32 AM
it'll take some time to index ur pages. happy to see ur problem solved, good luck smile
•Give Respect to Get Respect
Forgive me for my inactivity, I'm very busy with my work.
Post edited by RKxL - Tuesday, 2009-09-22, 6:39 AM
HandsofWondr
Posts: 13
Reputation: 0

Message # 28 | 9:02 PM
unless I'm totally overlooking it, I'm not seeing an selection on any menu saying "site search" anywhere. Sorry if I'm just overlooking it but, can someone please help me find out where it is located at on the control panel?

Thanks bunches. happy


We are the ones we have been waiting for.
http://ascendingenergy.ucoz.net
Dartz
Posts: 1931

Message # 29 | 9:10 PM
Go to Control Panel and look at left side Menu!
[... With uCoz since December 2 2007 ...]
HandsofWondr
Posts: 13
Reputation: 0

Message # 30 | 9:15 PM
Quote (Dartz)
Go to Control Panel and look at left side Menu!

done that.. still not seeing anything that says site search. Is this a "paid" feature as my site is on free status right now?


We are the ones we have been waiting for.
http://ascendingenergy.ucoz.net
uCoz Community » uCoz Modules » Additional Features » Sitemap
Page 2 of 9«123489»
Search: