Page 1 of 11
Forum moderator: bigblog 
uCoz Community » General Information » First Steps with uCoz » Few questions from total n00b
Few questions from total n00b
zawr
Posts: 10
Reputation: 0
Message # 1 | 12:30 PM
Hi.

1. How do I change module address? For example I've got a Files Catalog module that has address of http://mysite.ucoz/load, how do I change it to http://mysite.ucoz/files?
2. I removed the module Pubslisher, but it's still in the header and link leads to nowhere. How do I remove it from header? http://i.imgur.com/DJVJWqR.jpg
3. There is a left sidebar with blocks http://i.imgur.com/IR0pPAt.jpg and if I remove the blocks, the content of the page will be aligned to the right and pushed from the left side, as if the blocks were still there http://i.imgur.com/ZjlMNQ5.jpg How do I align it to center and remove that padding on the left?
4. Also, the blackening, which is above the background and under the contact field has some schematics and includes apple logo. How do I make it all in one tone, just black? http://i.imgur.com/ZjlMNQ5.jpg

Thanks.
Post edited by zawr - Saturday, 2016-10-29, 12:33 PM
bigblog
Great & Powerful
Posts: 1298
Reputation: 62
Message # 2 | 12:40 PM
zawr, hi and welcome to the uCoz website builder! smile

1. You can customize the URLs in the PRO version of the SEO Module (starting from the Basic plan).
2. You can edit the site menu items in the Site menu builder (CP » Design » Site menu builder).
3., 4. Please provide the URL address of your website as well.

trixie took over this account halp
zawr
Posts: 10
Reputation: 0
Message # 3 | 0:49 AM
Thanks for answering 1 & 2, bigblog! I really appreciate any help at this point.
Regarding 3, 4. I'm kinda embarrassed to show my site until I'm confident I can show it to other people. Would it help if I say that my template is Design #1231 from Computers & Communications?
Via Inspect Element I learned that the image of schematics I was referring to in Q4 is located at http://mysite.ucoz/.s/t/1231/board.png
But I can't find that image in Design Management.

Two more questions.

5. How do I change the site header logo, placed next to the site name? Right now it's this icon /.s/t/1231/logo.png
6. Voting button in the Poll is too close to the voting options. Can I move the button a little bit further down? http://i.imgur.com/6JNXYSV.jpg
Post edited by zawr - Sunday, 2016-10-30, 5:49 AM
bigblog
Great & Powerful
Posts: 1298
Reputation: 62
Message # 4 | 8:45 AM
zawr, you can always send me a private message providing the URL address of your website smile It looks like you have accidentally provided it, but don't worry, I've edited your message and removed the URL.

3. If you want to remove the sidebar from a certain page (in your case, it's "Submit your request"), then you need to use a conditional operator to display the sidebar on all pages except for that one. You need to go to the Site pages template, and replace $GLOBAL_CLEFTER$ with:
Code
<?if($PAGE_ID$!='sitePage5')?>$GLOBAL_CLEFTER$<?endif?>

where "5" is the ID of the page where you want to hide the sidebar on.

You still have one more thing to do smile In the same template, you need to replace this:
Code
<div id="content">

with this:
Code
<div id="content"<?if($PAGE_ID$='sitePage5')?> style="width: auto !important;"<?endif?>

This will fix the page width issue.

4. It's the 73rd line in your Style sheet:
Code
#cas-w {background: url(/.s/t/1231/board.png) 0 100% no-repeat;}

You can either remove this line entirely to hide the image with the Apple logo or remove "no-repeat" and have the image fill in the entire container.

5. You can replace the logo in the 32nd line of your CSS:
Code
.site-l {display:inline-block;background:url(/.s/t/1231/logo.png) 0 19px no-repeat;padding:0 0 0 40px;}

The size of the original icon is 27x27; we recommend to use the same size smile

6. Add the following line to the end of your CSS:
Code
.pollButton {margin-top: 10px;}

You can tweak the size of the top margin to fit your needs smile

trixie took over this account halp
zawr
Posts: 10
Reputation: 0
Message # 5 | 1:54 AM
YES! Very helpful and detailed reply. bigblog, you are a web wizard.

Added (2016-10-31, 1:54 AM)
---------------------------------------------
Got another question. I want to allow Guests to post in chatbox without Security Code.
So I go to Users » User groups » Guests - Edit group properties or permissions, and in Others drop-down menu there's a check field that says "No security code required", but it's grayed out and I can't change it http://i.imgur.com/uLt2NG4.jpg

So how do I change that?

Cyberdasm
Posts: 554
Reputation: 2
Message # 6 | 2:37 AM
Quote zawr ()
So how do I change that?

zawr, I think it's built in to prevent spammers.

1F4BF3B

admin@lizeal.tk
www.lizeal.tk
zawr
Posts: 10
Reputation: 0
Message # 7 | 3:21 AM
Yeah, I figured as much. Kinda stupid of them to do that. I mean you're the site owner and you don't have the full control. Imagine going to your bank and getting prevented from cash withdrawal due to possibility of being mugged. Same deal here, as far as I see it. And what if I want spammers? Ever thought about that?

Anyway, I found a workaround. Apparently there are plenty free chat widget you can embed and I picked this one https://www.cbox.ws

Totally customizable, from colors to setting up mods/admins. Set myself as an admin. Can remove messages. No captcha for guests, no headache, looks good and works well. Pure bliss.

One could think I advertize this bloody widget. Well guess what, under these circumstances, I am indeed.
Post edited by zawr - Monday, 2016-10-31, 3:22 AM
Cyberdasm
Posts: 554
Reputation: 2
Message # 8 | 5:42 AM
Quote zawr ()
what if I want spammers? Ever thought about that?

zawr, by the way i hate spammers and I always kick them out of my logbook.

1F4BF3B

admin@lizeal.tk
www.lizeal.tk
bigblog
Great & Powerful
Posts: 1298
Reputation: 62
Message # 9 | 5:27 PM
zawr, at the moment, you can't disable the security code for guests.
trixie took over this account halp
zawr
Posts: 10
Reputation: 0
Message # 10 | 4:53 AM
Good to know. Got two more questions here.

7. It appears that users of my site (including me as admin) are only able to edit their name, password, location, sex and birth date through uid.me site http://i.imgur.com/rf8l9oh.png
How can I enable that sort of editing directly from my own site?

8. Also, if I leave birth date and sex out of registration page, after the user has registered for him they will be automatically assigned to "00 December 0000" and "Male". Any way to exclude them being assigned at all?
bigblog
Great & Powerful
Posts: 1298
Reputation: 62
Message # 11 | 9:01 PM
zawr, here are the answers to your questions:

7. At the moment, it is not possible to edit the personal information of the users directly from your site. The Local users feature which allows you to have your own login system and database instead of uID's, is available starting from the Basic plan.

8. If you want to hide that information from the profile page, go to the Control Panel » Design customization » User's personal page and remove the following lines:
Code
<?if($_GENDER_NAME$)?>[ $_GENDER_NAME$ ]<?endif?>

and
Code
<?if($_BIRTHDAY$)?>
<div id="block10" class="udtb"><div class="udtlb">Date of birth:</div>$_BIRTHDAY$ [ <b>$_AGE$</b> $_ZODIAC$ ]</div>
<?endif?>

trixie took over this account halp
zawr
Posts: 10
Reputation: 0
Message # 12 | 9:01 AM
Thanks for everything!

Added (2016-11-11, 9:01 AM)
---------------------------------------------
Hi again.

You know how there are URL shortcuts for .css, for example $PROFILE_URL$, $AVATAR_URL$?

Well what is the shortcut for current page of the site that you are on?

Post edited by zawr - Thursday, 2016-11-03, 3:25 AM
bigblog
Great & Powerful
Posts: 1298
Reputation: 62
Message # 13 | 2:10 PM
zawr,
Quote zawr ()
You know how there are URL shortcuts for .css, for example $PROFILE_URL$, $AVATAR_URL$?

There aren't shortcuts for the CSS file of the website. The following code is responsible for that:
Code
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="/_st/my.css">


Quote zawr ()
Well what is the shortcut for current page of the site that you are on?

Code
$HOME_PAGE_LINK$$REQUEST_URI$

trixie took over this account halp
uCoz Community » General Information » First Steps with uCoz » Few questions from total n00b
Page 1 of 11
Search: