Page 2 of 2«12
Forum moderator: bigblog 
uCoz Community » General Information » First Steps with uCoz » 301 Redirect for new domain (Google ?!)
301 Redirect for new domain
Urs
Posts: 277
Reputation: 3

Message # 16 | 10:34 AM
Quote bigblog ()

Might be a bit too much to do this for all websites on a server. Don't forget that you can update your sitemap manually anytime by removing it in the file manager.


Done, i have delete both sitemap.xml and sitemap-forum.xml
Last modification date is still the same : <lastmod>2017-06-25T18:04:31+03:00</lastmod>

All these crazy errors could have been avoided if i had in CP the allow sub-domain to be indexed so Google saw the redirect.

A tutorial is needed on uCoz, on this, because others might do same mistakes when attaching a domain, before they learn Google doesn't see redirect if old site is blocked with robots.txt

Post edited by Urs - Tuesday, 2017-06-27, 10:38 AM
bigblog
yeah, i'm still here
Posts: 1404
Reputation: 66

Message # 17 | 10:42 AM
Urs, have you edited that entry today? The <lastmod> tag displays the date when you have modified the file (page) for the last time. Also, this tag is mostly ignored by search engines, so you shouldn't really worry about it.
i breathe... sometimes
Urs
Posts: 277
Reputation: 3

Message # 18 | 11:09 AM
Quote bigblog ()
Urs, have you edited that entry today? The <lastmod> tag displays the date when you have modified the file (page) for the last time. Also, this tag is mostly ignored by search engines, so you shouldn't really worry about it.


When you say entry, you mean text on that page or change of URL of page ?

Thank you.

bigblog
yeah, i'm still here
Posts: 1404
Reputation: 66

Message # 19 | 11:11 AM
Urs, the document itself, not the URL.
i breathe... sometimes
Urs
Posts: 277
Reputation: 3

Message # 20 | 8:26 AM
I am still showing up with old URL like : https://thassos.ucoz.com/index/0-5 and under it as description Google is saying : "The lack of a description of this result is caused by the robots.txt file on this site" !!!

I clearly asked Google to fetch : https://thassos.ucoz.com/index/0-5 to see it is redirected.

Should i stop the redirection in order for Google to manage to get again the sub-domain, then make the redirection one more time ?

cry

Moreover from

3,241 URLs submitted
3,123 URLs indexed

For https://thassos.one/

now it is

3,241 URLs submitted
69 URLs indexed

Why is this happening ?

While the non-https (http version)

3,241 URLs submitted
3,238 URLs indexed

Should i remove the http version from webmaster tools ?

Post edited by Urs - Thursday, 2017-07-06, 9:33 AM
bigblog
yeah, i'm still here
Posts: 1404
Reputation: 66

Message # 21 | 10:33 AM
Urs, yes, it's better to only have one version of the website.
i breathe... sometimes
Urs
Posts: 277
Reputation: 3

Message # 22 | 11:27 AM
Quote bigblog ()
Urs, yes, it's better to only have one version of the website.


Bigblog, after i removed http versions from both, now i have in webmaster tools only :
https://thassos.one/
&
https://thassos.ucoz.com/

You are saying that i should also remove https://thassos.ucoz.com/ ?

Right now, no site appears in google search - like it was banned or something for normal keywords.
Basically i went from 1st page to no page.

bigblog
yeah, i'm still here
Posts: 1404
Reputation: 66

Message # 23 | 8:40 AM
Quote Urs ()
You are saying that i should also remove https://thassos.ucoz.com/ ?

Yes.

i breathe... sometimes
uCoz Community » General Information » First Steps with uCoz » 301 Redirect for new domain (Google ?!)
Page 2 of 2«12
Search: