Page 2 of 7«123467»
uCoz Community » uCoz Modules » Forum » Ban - How to ban someone ? (By IP address, By username ...)
Ban - How to ban someone ?
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 1 | 3:30 PM
Ban by username.

Is realized by means of reproofs.

Ban by IP address.

Is realized by means of admin-bar and forbids activity on the whole site.

Admin Bar » Control » IP blocking

1. Each IP address must be entered in a new line.
2. You can specify both full IP addresses and subnetworks (e.g. "205.105" means 205.105.x.x).

The bans both by a username and IP prohibits user’s activity but doesn’t prevent him from viewing the site. If you want to prohibit someone from viewing the site you must adjust user group permissions. There are the following options for this purpose:

1. View users' personal pages (profiles)
2. Read comments
3. Read forums (ability to enter a forum)
4. Read entries (Guestbook, Publisher, Blog, Site News)
5. View photos
6. Browse the catalog (File Catalog, Site Catalog)
7. View Ad Board
8. Read FAQ
9. Post mail forms
10. Take part in polls

You must remember that IP ban doesn’t mean that you have got rid of a hooligan forever. Many users have dynamic IPs, some users use proxy and some have a corporative network: if you ban one user you’ll also ban a number of harmless users. And don’t forget that the ban by a username is also not the best decision: it’s not a problem to register a new username. You can use the following methods to protect your site from undesirable visitors:

1. Create a separate group with no permissions and move there all delinquents.

2. Ordinary users can read everything but their permissions to write are limited. Only checked users can write.


I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
own3d
Posts: 10
Reputation: 0

Message # 16 | 2:27 PM
not working i copied how u wrote it and it is still the same.

Anyway thanks for help.

Greetz,
own3d

Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 17 | 2:32 PM
own3d, that's because Blocked users are not allowed to read forum. Allow them to read forum in user group settings and the code will work.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
own3d
Posts: 10
Reputation: 0

Message # 18 | 2:38 PM
oooh thanks girl xD

Greetz,
own3d

MaRiO3719
Posts: 6
Reputation: 0

Message # 19 | 3:27 PM
How i can block a class of ip because i have a member ho have's dinamyc ip and i don't know what to do...one of he's ip is 82.78.56.88...please help me!
Sir_Cr4p
Posts: 21
Reputation: 6

Message # 20 | 4:35 PM
this is a range of his ip: 82.76.0.0 - 82.79.255.255
normaly an ip range ban is given by replacing numbers with *.
i.e.:
82.76.*.*
82.77.*.*
82.78.*.*
82.79.*.*

or
82.76.0.0 - 82.79.255.255

but if u ban like that, some other people from same range will be banned too.


Buffer overrun detected!
MaRiO3719
Posts: 6
Reputation: 0

Message # 21 | 8:45 PM
So better i ban 82.78.56.0 and i ban just he's ip adress class....or not?
MaRiO3719
Posts: 6
Reputation: 0

Message # 22 | 2:05 AM
A range of IPs sorry...i banned the range of IPs in this mode 82.78.56.0...i resolved or not the problem?
Post edited by MaRiO3719 - Saturday, 2009-06-27, 2:07 AM
Sir_Cr4p
Posts: 21
Reputation: 6

Message # 23 | 9:25 PM
Quote (MaRiO3719)
i resolved or not the problem?

no, you didnt.

Quote (MaRiO3719)
i banned the range of IPs in this mode 82.78.56.0

you have to choose what is worse - ban all range or keep baning the same person everyday. when you decide to ban a dinamic ip you must ban a whole range.

Buffer overrun detected!
Armaros
Posts: 1424

Message # 24 | 10:00 PM
Dynamic*

All depends from which country is this user. If you ban big range, you might ban biggest
part of the country he's coming from. If you ban careful with small range, it will help you.

warezparadise
Posts: 75
Reputation: 0

Message # 25 | 5:26 PM
Quote (Sunny)
Create a "banned" group, adjust group permissions and make the pages like the following:

Code
<?if($GROUP_ID$=7)?>$GLOBAL_BANPAGE$<?else?>
Page content<?endif?>

Where do I put this code???

And Do I have to create a new page by page management and add create new page with this code??

Code
<html>
<head>
<title>The account is blocked</title>
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8">
<style type="text/css">
body{      
font-family: Verdana, Tahoma, Arial, Trebuchet MS, Sans-Serif, Georgia, Courier, Times New Roman, Serif;
font-size: 11px;
margin: 0;
padding: 0; /* required for Opera to have 0 margin */
}
.errorwrap {
background: #F2DDDD;
border: 1px solid #992A2A;
border-top: 0;
margin: 5px;
padding: 0;
}
.errorwrap h4 {
background: #E3C0C0;
border: 1px solid #992A2A;
border-left: 0;
border-right: 0;
color: #992A2A;      
font-size: 12px;
font-weight: bold;      
margin: 0;
padding: 5px;
}
.errorwrap p {
background: transparent;
border: 0;
color: #992A2A;
margin: 0;
padding: 8px;
font-size: 11px;
}
</style>
</head>
<body>

<table border="0" width="750" cellspacing="1" cellpadding="75" align="center">
<tr>
<td width="100%">
<div class="errorwrap">
<h4>Your account has been blocked: by the Administration</h4>

Your username (<b>$USERNAME$</b>) on this site has been blocked by the administrator.
The following reasons were provided:</p>

A standard ban for all larrikins</p>

If you see this then you have been banned!</p>

Possible causes:</p>

- For spamming</p>

- For using offensive language</p>

The time of ban termination: <b>Not</b>limited</p>

This is an automatic blocking procedure and it doesn’t require any actions.</p>
</div>
</td>
</tr>
</table>

</body>
</html>

Please Help me I am confused...

Post edited by warezparadise - Tuesday, 2010-01-26, 9:49 AM
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 26 | 11:28 AM
Quote (warezparadise)
Where do I put this code???

Depends on where you want it to appear. Probably into "Site Pages" template.

Quote (warezparadise)
And Do I have to create a new page by page management and add create new page with this code??

Yes.


I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Fang
Posts: 1
Reputation: 0

Message # 27 | 2:20 AM
Well, I've blocked users before but that doesn't stop them from making another account and coming back to my website. I've tried IP blocking and stuff and it still let them make another account. Please help me because there is someone who keeps spamming on our website and if we block them they just make another account with a NEW e-mail so that rules out the 1 e-mail per user setting.
Dartz
Posts: 1931

Message # 28 | 2:23 AM
Change user group permissions.

Use auto-transfer to transfer users which are older than 1 day or so to
another user-group which wouldn't contain limitations like default users.


[... With uCoz since December 2 2007 ...]
zohair
Posts: 10
Reputation: 0

Message # 29 | 3:51 PM
i blocked someone from using my site but i have deblocked his ip but till now he can't use the introducing
how to do to let him use the site
CodeResolution
Posts: 1570
Reputation: 58

Message # 30 | 4:21 PM
zohair, how did you unblock the IP Address?
Kind regards,
Elliott.

"The best uCoz" critic since 2007.
Qualified website, branding, print & user interface designer.

I'm on Behance and Twitter.
uCoz Community » uCoz Modules » Forum » Ban - How to ban someone ? (By IP address, By username ...)
Page 2 of 7«123467»
Search: