Page 4 of 6«123456»
uCoz Community » uCoz Modules » Site News & Blogs » Brief and full description, "read more" link
Brief and full description, "read more" link
Natashko
Posts: 3366
Reputation: 171

Message # 1 | 2:52 PM
Site News: Brief and full description

Various ways of displaying entries are possible within Site News module. If you check “Show brief version of the text if it is too long box”, only the part of the brief version will be displayed on the page (the part limited by the option “Number of characters for a brief version”) together with “Read more” link. If you click on the link, the page with entry full text will open.

Another option is to use “Entry brief description“ as a field of a new entry form. In this way the content of “Short description” field will be displayed on the main page (of site or module). And when you click on the entry name, the content of “Entry full text” will be displayed.

If you forbid a user group (for example Guests) to Read entries, they will be able to see only the content of Short description on the main page.
If you forbid a user group (for example Guests) to view the main page, they will not be able to see Short description of the entry.

Site News module doesn't have its own main page as other catalog-modules do. That is why the code responsible for outputting news is added to Home page content by default.
If you have messed up with the code when editing it – the news are not going to be displayed.

The code that outputs news:
Code
<?if($ADD_ENTRY_LINK$)?><div align="right" style="padding-bottom:3px;">[ <a href="$ADD_ENTRY_LINK$">Add entry</a> ]</div><?endif?>$LAST_NEWS$


FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Where can I set the number of characters in Short description?
Control panel->Site News->Module settings-> Number of characters for a brief version
The news ends up with ellipsis (dots) in Short description. Can I substitute it with my own character?
Unfortunately, it is not possible.
Is it possible to output only Entry name on Site News page so that the news itself will be located on the other page?
Yes, it is possible. You need to hide Short description. It can be done by editing Appearance of entries template in Control panel->Design->Design management (templates)->Site news
There are big spaces in the text of full description of the entry. How to fix it?
Most probably you used Word to embed the text. It is highly unrecommended. Copy and paste the text into Notepad and then from the Notepad to the website.
Can I use “Entry brief description” option for one news only?
Unfortunately, it is not possible by means of standard system solutions. Scripts might help you.
Is it possible to display news on the main page in the way they are displayed on the Page with entries full text and its comments?
No. Full text can not be displayed on the main page.
Can I display Entry names only?
Yes, it can be done by means of Informers. See more about them here: http://forum.ucoz.com/forum/37-457-2206-16-1206353355
Another option is to edit Appearance of entries template.
What is the maximum number of characters in the “Entry full text”?
40 000 characters.
Where can I change “Read more” in Short description?
Control panel->Substitution of default phrases->Site News
Which part of Style sheet CSS is responsible for changing the color of “Read more” inscription?
Control panel->Design->Design management (CSS)->class entryReadAllLink
How can I substitute “Read more” inscription with an image?
Control panel->Substitution of default phrases->Site News->substitute the text with HTML code of the image, like:
Code
<img src="...">


ChaosMagi
Posts: 4
Reputation: 0

Message # 46 | 5:40 AM
i have this post on my homepage and it shows ALL of the post. how can i get part of it hidden like there is a read more thing at the end of it or something like.

Or is it just naturally like that and i have to put more posts for it to hide it?
Animorph
Posts: 2855
Reputation: 189

Message # 47 | 8:37 AM
ChaosMagi, can you give a more specific example about what you want please ?
ChaosMagi
Posts: 4
Reputation: 0

Message # 48 | 8:53 AM
the full post is not shown but it has a CONTINUE READING.
So what i am asking is does it do that the not show full post thing on its own or can we control it?
is this clearer?

go to buzz99.com and on the main page it says CONTINUE READING at the end of each post. The post are just little pieces of the full post. When you click on it, it thens takes you to the full post. What i want is how to make my posts like the home page of buzz99.com where it is not showing the full post just a little of it. And if this is controllable or does it automatically do it?
Post edited by ChaosMagi - Monday, 2011-10-17, 8:59 AM
Natashko
Posts: 3366
Reputation: 171

Message # 49 | 9:28 AM
ChaosMagi, I suggest you use Site News module. Various ways of displaying entries are possible within Site News module. If you check “Show brief version of the text if it is too long box”(CP->Site News » Module settings), only the part of the brief version will be displayed on the page (the part limited by the option “Number of characters for a brief version”) together with “Read more” link. If you click on the link, the page with entry full text will open.
Please read this attentively: http://forum.ucoz.com/forum/14-14103-81188-16-1313070760
ChaosMagi
Posts: 4
Reputation: 0

Message # 50 | 1:22 PM
ok thanks!
Strykas
Posts: 19
Reputation: 1

Message # 51 | 3:57 PM
Hello, i created new Group called "Uploaders" and made them uploaders on file catalog, and when i exceed over 200 charakters in short description with this group i get message:

Text length in the field "Short description" exceeds maximal value

How do i solve this problem?

Image:
Post edited by Strykas - Friday, 2012-11-02, 3:57 PM
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 52 | 11:13 AM
Strykas, you can change the max length of this field in Control Panel -> File Catalog -> Modules settings -> Maximum length of a brief description.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Strykas
Posts: 19
Reputation: 1

Message # 53 | 12:55 PM
Sunny, but when i change it it is max 1000 and i cannot do more like 9999 whats the problem, its not good foor 1000 is not the best option for webbers i cannot make uploaders group with this thingy..
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 54 | 1:02 PM
Strykas, it can be set to 9999, not only 1000. Our techs have set it to 9999 for you.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
carloscompu
Posts: 246
Reputation: 1

Message # 55 | 11:58 AM
Is it posible to not show the description or Brief entry to users and only administrator will be able to see it to add a perticular code that i dont want users to see it
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 56 | 3:27 PM
carloscompu, I think it's better to use one of custom fields for this purpose and hide it with the help of conditional operators. Of course you can do the same within a brief description (hide some part of text) but in this case you'll need to enter conditional operators each time.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
carloscompu
Posts: 246
Reputation: 1

Message # 57 | 7:25 PM
How can I change the size of the full text entry box
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 58 | 2:59 PM
carloscompu, do you mean the max. number of characters or the size of the text area?
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
carloscompu
Posts: 246
Reputation: 1

Message # 59 | 3:19 PM
The size of the full text area,

Where you put in the entry you are adding
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 60 | 11:49 AM
carloscompu, you need to edit input classes in the CSS, can't say more exactly without a website link.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
uCoz Community » uCoz Modules » Site News & Blogs » Brief and full description, "read more" link
Page 4 of 6«123456»
Search: