Page 1 of 11
Forum moderator: bigblog 
uCoz Community » General Information » First Steps with uCoz » Why can't you have more than 20 personalized pages ? SEO (uniques meta tags for each page)
Why can't you have more than 20 personalized pages ? SEO
Vorpal
Posts: 82
Reputation: 3

Message # 1 | 3:28 PM
Why can't you have more than 20 personalized pages ?
This is very important for SEO.

You need a unique title and description for each page otherwise there is a penalty for the pages with he same title and description.
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 2 | 3:33 PM
Vorpal, use conditional operators, and you will be able to specify different meta tags for different pages within one template. E.g.:

Code
<?if($URI_ID$='page1')?>  
<meta name="description" content="description" />   
<meta name="keywords" content="keywords" />  
<?endif?>


Code
<?if($URI_ID$='page2')?>  
<meta name="description" content="description2" />   
<meta name="keywords" content="keywords2" />  
<?endif?>


and so on.

I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Vorpal
Posts: 82
Reputation: 3

Message # 3 | 10:27 AM
Do i insert this in "sites pages"replacing the normal "<title>$SITE_NAME$ - $MODULE_NAME$</title>"

If i have 500 pages i need to insert this 500 times right ? One for each page ID.

Thank you !
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 4 | 10:37 AM
Vorpal, yes, you insert it into the Site Pages template as many times as you have pages.

It is more convenient to add meta tags to other modules, e.g. Site News. In this case you can use one of additional fields to enter keywords and description, and then use something like this in the template:

Code
<meta name="description" content="$OTHER1$" />   
<meta name="keywords" content="$OTHER2$" />

I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Urs
Posts: 285
Reputation: 3

Message # 5 | 3:39 PM
Does each sub-domain benefit from another 20 personalized pages ?
If domain is example.com ?

Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 6 | 7:59 AM
Urs, what kind of benefit do you mean?
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Urs
Posts: 285
Reputation: 3

Message # 7 | 7:40 PM
Does each sub-domain get it's own 20 personalized pages on top of the domain that also gets 20 ?
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 8 | 9:33 AM
Urs, yes, because each subdomain has to be attached to a separate website.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
GEM
Posts: 32
Reputation: 0

Message # 9 | 8:11 PM
or build a static HTML files based site : )
different file per each page


WWW.DOGICA.COM / WWW.DOGICA.ORG
Post edited by GEM - Monday, 2014-07-21, 8:12 PM
Paradox
Posts: 3276
Reputation: 145

Message # 10 | 2:02 AM
GEM, this wouldn't be possible on the uCoz system, however. wink
Developer, Designer, Communicator.
Been here for 6 years and counting.
Visit me at alexmoloney.me.
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 11 | 8:36 AM
Quote GEM ()
this wouldn't be possible on the uCoz system, however.


To be more exact it is possible technically, but uCoz is the system for the creation of dynamic websites.

I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Urs
Posts: 285
Reputation: 3

Message # 12 | 2:29 PM
I tried myself the code but it does not work.
I used it in the <head> region and deleted the original title / meta description:

Code
<title>my site</title>
<meta name="description" content="about my site">
<meta name="keywords" content="my, site, my site">


I replaces that with :

Code
<?if($URI_ID$='page1')?>   
<meta name="description" content="description" />    
<meta name="keywords" content="keywords" />   
<?endif?>


Code
<?if($URI_ID$='page2')?>   
<meta name="description" content="description2" />    
<meta name="keywords" content="keywords2" />   
<?endif?>


etc.

With and without / at the end.
And for URL ID i used the ID provided in page editor. Example : <?if($URI_ID$='200')?> <?if($URI_ID$='123')?>
Even if i use : <?if($URI_ID$='page200')?> <?if($URI_ID$='page123')?> it does not work.

Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 13 | 2:39 PM
Urs, $URI_ID$ is not page ID, displayed in Page Editor. To get the $URI_ID$ of a page, go to the Design tab of the Admin Bar:



If it still does not work, provide the links to the pages where you tried it.

I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Urs
Posts: 285
Reputation: 3

Message # 14 | 11:15 PM
I had to remove from Site Pages :

<title>name</title>
<meta name="description" content="about name">
<meta name="keywords" content="name, about, about name">

And added : (i had to add title also and the following code seems to be the correct one that works)

Code
<?if($URI_ID$='page200')?>
<title>name</title>
<meta name="description" content="about name" />
<meta name="keywords" content="name, about, about name" />
<?endif?>


Is the correct form :
<meta name="keywords" content="keyword"> OR
<meta name="keywords" content="keyword" /> (with / ) ?

Now i have to add this for every single page in site pages right ? Otherwise the remaining pages will have the URL as title ?

Using this conditional operator basically means i no longer need to use personalized pages right ?

Can i use conditional operators for example to change the template design ? (for example removing global blocks left and right and extending the central text page to 80% or 100% of the width of the screen (what i did with the other personalized pages).

What were the personalized pages intended for ?

Must the conditional operators be used in the <head> section or can they be used anywhere else ? Where should they be put normally ?

Post edited by Urs - Thursday, 2014-08-07, 11:24 PM
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 15 | 9:03 AM
Quote Urs ()
Is the correct form :
<meta name="keywords" content="keyword"> OR
<meta name="keywords" content="keyword" /> (with / ) ?


Without /

Quote Urs ()
Now i have to add this for every single page in site pages right ?


Yeah, for each page where you need unique meta tags.

Quote Urs ()
Using this conditional operator basically means i no longer need to use personalized pages right ?


Yes.

Quote Urs ()
Can i use conditional operators for example to change the template design ? (for example removing global blocks left and right and extending the central text page to 80% or 100% of the width of the screen (what i did with the other personalized pages).


Sure, you can use conditional operators to change design for specific pages as well.

Quote Urs ()
What were the personalized pages intended for ?


If you need several pages with completely different design, personalized pages would be more convenient.

Quote Urs ()
Must the conditional operators be used in the <head> section or can they be used anywhere else ? Where should they be put normally ?


They can be used anywhere in a template.

If you have additional questions about the conditional operators, please ask them in the following thread: http://forum.ucoz.com/forum/37-471-1

I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
uCoz Community » General Information » First Steps with uCoz » Why can't you have more than 20 personalized pages ? SEO (uniques meta tags for each page)
Page 1 of 11
Search: