Forum moderator: bigblog  
uCoz Community » For Webmasters » Design Customization » Help on Template Builder (How to Create a Skeleton ?)
Help on Template Builder
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 1 | 10:47 AM
How to Create a Skeleton


When you open a Templates Builder section you can see the following options:
1. Rules for creating a skeleton
2. Sample skeleton
3. Skeletons of standard designs
4. You're using default style sheet of the design #, or Personal style sheet is in use


Those are the links to definite pages of the Control Panel. #1 and #2 are pop-up windows, # 3 opens a drop-down list with the links to standard skeletons (if you click on one of them it will be loaded to the editing area). And finally, #4 will open a pop-up window with the link to the CSS file.


Let’s get back to item 2 (sample skeleton). There are three buttons at the top of the opened window – Skeleton code, View, Edit. Active button is in a pale color, it is Skeleton code by default. When you click View you’ll see the page as it will look. We can view the appearance of the main site page (and main module pages), forum and pop-up windows. Pop-up windows are a user profile, poll results, a list of PMs etc. When you click on Edit the skeleton code will be copied to the editing area of the Templates Builder. Below are the checkboxes by means of which you can change the design either of the whole website or of some definite module(s): just remove the checkmarks for those modules which you don’t want to change. Under the checkboxes you can see the following buttons:

1. File Manager
2. View
3. Create templates (after you have clicked on this button the templates of the marked modules will change)
4. Additional options
a) Add to designs set (Addition of the created design to the set of default designs. This design will be used when restoring templates)
b) Archive the skeleton (Creation of an archive which will contain skeleton code file, style sheets file, files of images, setup manual file for installation of the skeleton on any other uCoz site)
c) Save skeleton (Saving skeleton code in a file to continue its configuring in future (backup))

Sometimes your code may contain mistakes then the system will warn you before creating an archive. The archive will be saved together with a special error file where all confusing places of the code will be listed.

If you have already edited uCoz templates then you are familiar with the principles of their structure and with the special uCoz codes. You can use in the skeleton only those codes that are working in all templates. You’ll have to paste all codes, specific for certain modules, manually. Except the standard codes, special skeleton codes are used.


The list of special Templates Builder codes:

1. [TITLE] – page name (for the tag)
2. [CSS_URL] – URL of the CSS file
3. [RSS_URL] – URL of the RSS feed (for the modules that have it)
4. [MODULE_PAGE_URL] – URL of the main module/section page (for the modules that have it)
5. [MODULE_NAME] – module name
6. [CATS_TITLE] – name of the block with the module categories list
7. [CATEGORIES] – list of the module categories (for the modules that have them)
8. [CALENDAR_TITLE] – name of the block with the calendar of additions
9. [CALENDAR] – calendar of additions (for the modules that have it)
10. [SEARCH_TITLE] – name of the search block
11. [SEARCH_FORM] – search block for searching module entries (for the modules that have this feature)
12. [BODY] – main part of the page (list of entries etc.)


When installing a skeleton on the site the Templates Builder will automatically replace those codes by the equivalent standard codes, specific for each module. In the general case [BODY] is not equal to $BODY$. For example, you’ll get the following code instead of [BODY] on the main page:

Code
<table border="0" cellpadding="5" cellspacing="0" width="100%" class="tabbody">
<tr>
<td class="tdbody"><a href="$HOME_PAGE_LINK$">Main page</a> </td></tr>
<tr>
<td class="tdbody1">
%IF($ADD_NEWS_LINK$)%<div style="text-align:right;padding-bottom:3px;">[ <a href="$ADD_NEWS_LINK$">Add new entry</a> ]</div>%ENDIF%
$LAST_NEWS$
</td>
</tr>
</table>


And for the File Catalog (the source code is the same):

Code
<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%">
<tr>
<td width="80%"><a href="$HOME_PAGE_LINK$">Main</a> » Files</td>
<td align="right" style="white-space: nowrap;">%IF($ADD_ENTRY_LINK$)%[ <a href="$ADD_ENTRY_LINK$">Add new entry</a> ]%ENDIF%</td>
</tr>
</table>
<hr />
<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%">
<tr>
<td width="60%">Total entries in catalog: <b>$NUM_ENTRIES$</b>%IF($NUM_SHOWN$)%
Shown entries: <b>$NUM_SHOWN$</b>%ENDIF%</td>
<td align="right">%IF($PAGE_SELECTOR$)%Pages: $PAGE_SELECTOR$%ENDIF%</td>
</tr>
</table>
<hr />
$BODY$
%IF($PAGE_SELECTOR1$)%<div style="text-align:center;">$PAGE_SELECTOR1$</div>%ENDIF%
</td>
</tr>
</table>


And for the Forum you’ll get just ..., ... and the following code in between:

Code
<table border="0" cellpadding="0" height="30" cellspacing="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
<td align="right">[      
<a class="fNavLink" href="$RECENT_POSTS_LINK$" rel="nofollow">Recent messages</a> •      
<a class="fNavLink" href="$MEMBERS_LIST_LINK$" rel="nofollow">Members</a> •      
<a class="fNavLink" href="$BOARD_RULES_LINK$" rel="nofollow">Forum rules</a> •      
<a class="fNavLink" href="$SEARCH_PAGE_LINK$" rel="nofollow">Search</a> •
<a class="fNavLink" href="$BOARD_RSS_LINK$" rel="nofollow">RSS</a> ]</td>
</tr>
</table>
$BODY$


The conditional operators for the Templates Builder also have unique features. They are of two types: ordinary %IF% %ELSE% %ENDIF% and {IF} ... {ENDIF}. The first type is described in the Control Panel. The second type is easy to understand: these codes are used for those parts of the code that will be displayed for certain modules only. The system knows itself what and where to display.

That is what you should know when working with the Templates Builder.

I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
ﻞэsтэr
Posts: 1
Reputation: 0

Message # 31 | 9:15 PM
Is there any way to use a template made in html?
Dartz
Posts: 1931

Message # 32 | 11:55 PM
Yes, replace the source pages.
[... With uCoz since December 2 2007 ...]
BigFanJimCarrey
Posts: 4
Reputation: 0

Message # 33 | 11:33 PM
on my website I am trying to remove the part whare it says My site I keep trying to remove it but I cant find a way can ANYONE HELP!!?? help PLEASE smile
I LOVE JIM CARREY I hope you do too. :-) have a good day :-)
Tommy
Posts: 454
Reputation: 38

Message # 34 | 2:33 AM
Use builder http://www.forum.ucoz.com/forum/5-5862-1
"I don't like to commit myself about heaven and hell - you see, I have friends in both places"
Condorn18252
Posts: 3
Reputation: 0

Message # 35 | 6:04 PM
Hi buddys,
I have created a template. I can see it in Main>Page Editor> mytemplate.
How can I apply this template to my pages.

http://balochistan.ucoz.com/
Dartz
Posts: 1931

Message # 36 | 9:07 AM
Condorn18252, http://forum.ucoz.com/forum/36-9267-1
[... With uCoz since December 2 2007 ...]
Animorph
Posts: 2856
Reputation: 189

Message # 37 | 2:15 PM
Hello Dear Admins/Staff

I'm recently working on a design project fully working with uCoz but i can't find the problem i have with the blocks

if i use builder feature the blocks are showing perfectly that no problem but there are also alot of empty blocks

I will give you the block code i have, after a reply if u need the block code

best regards


To busy building a passive income online ;)
Post edited by Animorph - Wednesday, 2010-11-03, 2:22 PM
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 38 | 2:10 PM
Animorph, how did you add the blocks? What kind of blocks? Show a screenshot or provide the website URL.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Animorph
Posts: 2856
Reputation: 189

Message # 39 | 2:15 PM

Blocks (skeleton) of builder

The problem is after applying my skeleton template that there are a few empty blocks

Code
<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="1" width="100%">
<tr>
<td valign="top" width="200">
<!-- <container> --><!-- <block> -->
<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="1" style="background:#FFFFFF;border:1px solid #8A8A8A;" width="200"><tr><td width="200"><table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="200">
<tr><td style="background:url('/images/topblock.png');color:#E7E9E7;padding-top:5px; padding-left:30px;" valign="top" height="35"><b><!-- <bt> --><!--<s3199>-->TITLE<!--</s>--><!-- </bt> --></b></td></tr>
<tr><td style="background:#ffffff;padding:5px;"><div align="center"><!-- <bc> -->CONTENT<!-- </bc> --></div></td></tr>
</table></td></tr>
</table>
<img src="/images/bottomblock.png" border="0">
<!-- </block> -->
<!-- </container> -->
</td>
Attachments: 0150442.jpg (38.4 Kb)

To busy building a passive income online ;)
Post edited by Animorph - Thursday, 2010-11-04, 2:19 PM
gadget
Posts: 65
Reputation: 3

Message # 40 | 2:33 PM
I've some another templates for suitable for my site, plz tell me how could I changed this.

Help on this


Happiness comes to those who are moving toward something they want very much to happen. And it almost always involves making someone else happy.

LOL
Gadget
Animorph
Posts: 2856
Reputation: 189

Message # 41 | 3:39 PM
gadget,
these following things might help you

http://forum.ucoz.com/forum/5-3045-13094-16-1227610077
http://forum.ucoz.com/forum/5-422-1
http://forum.ucoz.com/forum/36-9267-1


To busy building a passive income online ;)
Natashko
Posts: 3366
Reputation: 171

Message # 42 | 1:46 PM
PRANJAL, you have asked this question in several threads. it is against forum rules. Stick to one thread here http://forum.ucoz.com/forum/10-12005-1#65956
yurchak
Posts: 2
Reputation: 0

Message # 43 | 6:59 PM
hello!
how can I replace whole site to new and select new design? I mean I need blank site from zero.
Animorph
Posts: 2856
Reputation: 189

Message # 44 | 7:35 PM
yurchak, to change your website design go to CP ---> Settings ---> Common settings ----> Site design , and select one , yu can remove all codes to have a blank page , that is all up to you
To busy building a passive income online ;)
yurchak
Posts: 2
Reputation: 0

Message # 45 | 7:53 PM
Quote (Animorph)
yurchak, to change your website design go to CP ---> Settings ---> Common settings ----> Site design , and select one , yu can remove all codes to have a blank page , that is all up to you

Sorry, it does not work for me.

Attachments: 2086394.jpg (194.6 Kb)
uCoz Community » For Webmasters » Design Customization » Help on Template Builder (How to Create a Skeleton ?)
Search: