uCoz Community » uCoz Modules » Additional Features » Informers (help on informers, interesting solutions)
Informers
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 1 | 10:09 AM
# Informer Samples #

Informers serve to display entries of particular modules on any pages of any sites. For example, you can output the latest forum threads or most commented photos right on the main page. This helps to make your site more interesting and handy for the visitors.

To create an Informer:

1. Go to Informers section on the main page of the Control Panel.

2. Press Create informer.

3. Select necessary module in the field with the pop-down list. (Additional options will appear depending on a module).

4. Set parameters of the options Number of entries and Number of columns.

5. Press Create.

6. Insert the obtained code of the type

Code
$MYINF_id$
where you need.

7. Informer appearance and the information for output can be edited in informer template. Type of information (uCoz codes) depends on the source module. List of codes, available for a certain informer, is under the form for editing template.

With the help of the informer, you can output information both on pages of your website and on any other site in the internet.

There are no explanations for the codes, used in informer template. This is because informers are a serious thing and you should not edit informers without good knowledge of HTML and uCoz system.



Question-answer

Where should I put the code of informer?
Control Panel -> Design -> Design management(templates).

***
How can I find out ID of an entry?
View list of entries or categories and you’ll find their IDs.

***
Is it possible to output entries in random order?
Yes, when you select a type of entries sorting you can choose the item "In random order".

***
Is it possible to make $ID$ code in the informer with Photo Album, because photos often have no names?
Do not output a name at all.

***
How can I output an image, belonging to the news entry, in the informer?
Edit informer template and insert a variable that will display the image.

***
Is it possible not to output in the news informer the news entries that are on the main page?
No.

***
Is it possible to do the following: the informer starts to count users’ messages form a certain time and does not take into account earlier messages?
No.


I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 76 | 8:47 AM
Krishna, that's because your categories/sections are not available got Guests. Change user group permission.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
spider853
Posts: 2
Reputation: 0

Message # 77 | 2:20 PM
Hi, I have a question...
how I can combine 2 informers?
its because I need some variables from other type of informer ... for example
User Name and Avatar with Last Post URL and Forum URL

I know that informers are a cycle and I can't just grab some variables for a user from an informer and pass it to other one.

So is there any way?

Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 78 | 2:56 PM
spider853, I can only suggest the following: try to create two different Informers, edit their templates as you need, then paste both codes within one block.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
spider853
Posts: 2
Reputation: 0

Message # 79 | 6:51 PM
Quote (Sunny)
then paste both codes within one block.

So blocks works like a counters for the cycle?
Do you talk about blocks like Global Blocks?
Sorry for stupid questions but I'm a 0 in ucoz.. I'm helping a friend that has a site here..

to be more exactly he want's a feature like here

Code
http://animeonline.su/

down where is written current users online... when you put the mouse over a user you get the information about last login time ,username, avatar, Group name, the current page he is watching.
Post edited by spider853 - Friday, 2009-06-19, 7:29 PM
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 80 | 9:54 AM
spider853, I doubt it will be possible. Explore the codes, available in Informers, but some info is impossible to display, e.g. in uCoz it's not possible to see the current page a user is viewing.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
RuBeN
Posts: 4
Reputation: 2

Message # 81 | 3:16 PM
Hi,Helper
I Have An Problem, I Have An Top 10 posters list with only names and the number of post and i want an picture left next to the name how i do that ?
Thanks

Here is The Link To The Picture
the link

In the Top 10 List I Marked Things Red There I Want My Picture Please help

Post edited by RuBeN - Wednesday, 2009-07-01, 3:17 PM
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 82 | 3:29 PM
RuBeN, you mean avatars? Edit informer template and add the code $AVATAR_URL$
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Devil_Jin
Posts: 24
Reputation: 0

Message # 83 | 7:03 PM
Hi

I have created a informer here's the code :

Code


<li><a href="$THREAD_URL$">$THREAD_TITLE$</a><span style="color: rgb(72, 61, 139);"><b> <span style="font-size: 10pt;"> <span style="font-size: 10pt; color: rgb(0, 0, 0);">$AUTHOR$</span></span></b></span><span style="font-size: 18pt; color: rgb(0, 0, 0);"> </span> $DATE$<span>  ($REPLIES$)</span><div style="" align="right">[<a href="$FORUM_URL$">$FORUM$</a>]</div></li>

It show the recent posts on my Main page. I would like to know how do I create a new informer which will also show the pictures in the new topics created, for example if I post a new movie link it has a picture in the post would like to show the picture on the front page too; but in a horizontal format like a table with say 5 new topics in movies,application,music,cracks.

Please help.

Thank You In Advance


Post edited by Devil_Jin - Thursday, 2009-07-02, 5:33 AM
Devil_Jin
Posts: 24
Reputation: 0

Message # 84 | 4:48 AM
Quote (RuBeN)
Quote (Sunny)
RuBeN, it's not your informer template. You can see and edit your informer template is in CP -> Informers.

Here Sunny I gonna Give My Informer Code

Code
<li><a href="$PROFILE_URL$">$USERNAME$</a> <span>[$FORUM_POSTS$]</span></li>

If U Wanna Help to get pictures Next To The Names I Realy appreciate That .

Hey RuBeN,

Just copy and paste this in your Top Poster informer

Code


<table width="100%">
<td width="40" align="center" valign="middle">
<img src="$AVATAR_URL$" width="30"></td><td width="50%" align="center" valign="middle"><a href="$PROFILE_URL$">$USERNAME$</a></td><td width="50%" align="left" valign="middle"><b>$FORUM_POSTS$</b> msg(s)</td></table>

This will show the avatar along with the Name and Number Of posts .

Hope This Was What You Were Looking For..

cool


Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 85 | 10:00 AM
Devil_Jin, you want this Informer with pictures for forum threads? If yes then it's not possible.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Devil_Jin
Posts: 24
Reputation: 0

Message # 86 | 11:01 AM
can I show images only in the main page so if some one clicks the image they will be taken to appropriate post??
Armaros
Posts: 1424

Message # 87 | 12:24 PM
Quote (Devil_Jin)
can I show images only in the main page so if some one clicks the image they will be taken to appropriate post??
It's called HTML. Stop spamming, last warning.
How does this image is related to informers?!
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 88 | 2:37 PM
Devil_Jin, not all Informers have image codes. Create an Informer you need and then explore it's template to see what codes are available.

Quote (Devil_Jin)
can I show images only in the main page so if some one clicks the image they will be taken to appropriate post??

This question is really more about HTML then about informer settings.


I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Bengaltiger
Posts: 57
Reputation: 1

Message # 89 | 10:37 PM
hello guyz hello
i hav a question about informers of comments section
ummm prob is...i want to make every comment text in a proper size...so how can i do dis???
Code
<FONT size=2'>msg </FONT>
i used dis size..but it doesnt work
another question is the file of informer catalog in dat der is option--- Maximal title length:(dis1)
but this option is not present in comment section...dis is bad..it could be more better if it were der.
do u guyz hav any kind of code which1 can help me to making (maximal title length) option???? wacko

thank you smile

Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 90 | 9:15 AM
Bengaltiger, you should edit font size in CSS, you need the class "cMessage".

Quote (Bengaltiger)
another question is the file of informer catalog in dat der is option--- Maximal title length:(dis1)
but this option is not present in comment section.

Comments don't have titles.


I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
uCoz Community » uCoz Modules » Additional Features » Informers (help on informers, interesting solutions)
Search: