uCoz Community » uCoz Modules » Site Users » User Ranks and Titles
User Ranks and Titles
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 1 | 2:01 PM
You can edit ranks here – Control Panel » Main » Users » User ranks.

There are 10 ranks + Guest. You can write your own name for each rank including Guest. An empty field will be filled in with a default rank when saving. You can assign an image to each rank either from a default set or from your custom one. A custom set must contain icons with the names "rank[1-10].gif". They are placed in the special field which appears only after you have chosen "Custom set". You must specify full address to the folder with rank images - http://your_site.ucoz.com/your_folder/.

Images should be uploaded to the site beforehand via FTP or File Manager, not as an archive but as separate files.

Ranks are assigned according to the number of forum posts.

Personal rank, named "User’s title" appears in the forum and in a Profile by default instead of a rank, and group image (in the forum) instead of a rank image. To insert an image instead of text in a Title you should write the following in the field:

Code
<img src="full_address_of_custom_image">

It is advisable to have a short address because there is a limit on the number of characters in the field.

If you want to output both group image and rank image then edit the template of entry appearance (you should first enable it in Forum Settings).

You can change ranks in the Control Panel by changing number of messages, therefore ranks are assigned according to the number of messages in the forum.

If you want both a rank and a title being displayed then go to Control Panel - Forum – Module design customization – Appearance of entries:

Code
<?if($USER_TITLE$)?><div class="postRankName">$USER_TITLE$</div><?else?><div class="postRankName">$USER_RANK_NAME$</div><?endif?>

The code shows that either rank or title is displayed, so you should divide this line into two:

Code
<?if($USER_TITLE$)?><div class="postRankName">$USER_TITLE$</div><?endif?>                  
<?if($USER_RANK_NAME$)?><div class="postRankName">$USER_RANK_NAME$</div><?endif?>

You can assign your own classes.

Question - Answer

Quote
Maybe should allow to make more user ranks?

10 ranks is enough, you can't add more....

Quote
how do i add custom user rank icons? i put the name of the images rank1 rank2 rank3 rank4 rank5 etc. all the way up to 10. there in gif formate. i put them in a file on my website. i put the url of the file into the custom icon thing in the user ranks. But when i look at the pictures of them on my site. nothing is there

What url you put in "Link (URL) to folder with icons"?
Image name must be rank1.gif, rank2.gif e t.c. Upload into some folder. For example in yourname.ucoz.com/myranks
Insert this url (http://yourname.ucoz.com/myranks) on the ucoz.com/main/?a=users;l=rank

Quote
Aint it possible to remove ranks, or make it less, cause i don't want, or need 10 ranks


It is possible to change User Title and Rank value in the personal profile:

Do not forget that "User's rank" feature should be enabled in Control panel->Users->Module settings

Attachments: 4242900.png (16.9 Kb) · 8490155.jpg (21.8 Kb) · 9511682.jpg (11.4 Kb) · 9533284.jpg (85.0 Kb)

I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Tom
Posts: 19
Reputation: 0

Message # 16 | 11:34 AM
Ok, thanks Sunny.

After I do this will they change automatically to match forum posts? Or will I have to change them again?


www.sliceanddice.ucoz.com A Medal of Honor + Sniper Elite Clan
Want an updates box on your website? Get it here.
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 17 | 11:47 AM
With the increase of forum posts ranks will increase automatically.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Slicer
Posts: 28
Reputation: 3

Message # 18 | 4:32 PM
Hello,
I am wondering, I would like to insert a picture in the "user title" space on my account on my website.
Is this possible or not?
Armaros
Posts: 1424

Message # 19 | 5:39 PM
Go to user profile & click on
Insert: <img src="url of picture">
Slicer
Posts: 28
Reputation: 3

Message # 20 | 6:59 PM
What happens if the url is too long?
501
Posts: 3
Reputation: 1

Message # 21 | 7:22 PM
Quote (slicer)
What happens if the url is too long?

Image do not work then,because there is limited space in tittle box.
But just put short source for example: <img src="http://yoursite.ucoz.com/1.jpg">

www.conclave.ucoz.com >> welcome.
Slicer
Posts: 28
Reputation: 3

Message # 22 | 3:09 PM
Alright,
For the title of a user, is it possible to change the color of the text?
If so, what is the code I need to use?
Pilot
Posts: 487
Reputation: 77

Message # 23 | 3:12 PM
CP > Customize Design > Forum > Appearance of entries
and change the color for $USER_TITLE$
Slicer
Posts: 28
Reputation: 3

Message # 24 | 3:19 PM
Is it possible just to change the color for the user title for only one user?
iLee
Posts: 111
Reputation: 0

Message # 25 | 3:20 PM
Yes, Using conditional operators.

for example,

<?if($USERNAME$='Name')?> code <?else?> code <?endif>

I don't know if that's correct but I think it is.


Use your brain before you post ~Lee
Please use search, ~Lee
Post edited by iLee - Saturday, 2009-02-21, 3:25 PM
Slicer
Posts: 28
Reputation: 3

Message # 26 | 3:48 PM
Where would i paste the code?
Armaros
Posts: 1424

Message # 27 | 6:24 PM
Where you want to change it? It's not possible to change it everywhere!
Phoenix4ever
Posts: 1
Reputation: 0

Message # 28 | 1:45 AM
Sunny, I've followed your directions but when now it just shows the "broken Image" icon for all the ranks.. The files were originally .png files and I just renamed them to .gif in file manager.. Please help.
Hi.
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 29 | 9:08 AM
Phoenix4ever, you can't just rename files, you should convert them using special editor, e.g. Photoshop or at least Paint.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Slicer
Posts: 28
Reputation: 3

Message # 30 | 11:27 PM
Hello everyone.
Can someone please tell me, for the title of a user, can you make it so that can keep on typing in it so the field will scroll?
Or at least make it so I can put more in that field?
Thanks!
Slicer.
Post edited by slicer - Wednesday, 2009-03-04, 11:32 PM
uCoz Community » uCoz Modules » Site Users » User Ranks and Titles
Search: