uCoz Community » uCoz Modules » Site Users » User Ranks and Titles
User Ranks and Titles
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 1 | 2:01 PM
You can edit ranks here – Control Panel » Main » Users » User ranks.

There are 10 ranks + Guest. You can write your own name for each rank including Guest. An empty field will be filled in with a default rank when saving. You can assign an image to each rank either from a default set or from your custom one. A custom set must contain icons with the names "rank[1-10].gif". They are placed in the special field which appears only after you have chosen "Custom set". You must specify full address to the folder with rank images - http://your_site.ucoz.com/your_folder/.

Images should be uploaded to the site beforehand via FTP or File Manager, not as an archive but as separate files.

Ranks are assigned according to the number of forum posts.

Personal rank, named "User’s title" appears in the forum and in a Profile by default instead of a rank, and group image (in the forum) instead of a rank image. To insert an image instead of text in a Title you should write the following in the field:

Code
<img src="full_address_of_custom_image">

It is advisable to have a short address because there is a limit on the number of characters in the field.

If you want to output both group image and rank image then edit the template of entry appearance (you should first enable it in Forum Settings).

You can change ranks in the Control Panel by changing number of messages, therefore ranks are assigned according to the number of messages in the forum.

If you want both a rank and a title being displayed then go to Control Panel - Forum – Module design customization – Appearance of entries:

Code
<?if($USER_TITLE$)?><div class="postRankName">$USER_TITLE$</div><?else?><div class="postRankName">$USER_RANK_NAME$</div><?endif?>

The code shows that either rank or title is displayed, so you should divide this line into two:

Code
<?if($USER_TITLE$)?><div class="postRankName">$USER_TITLE$</div><?endif?>                  
<?if($USER_RANK_NAME$)?><div class="postRankName">$USER_RANK_NAME$</div><?endif?>

You can assign your own classes.

Question - Answer

Quote
Maybe should allow to make more user ranks?

10 ranks is enough, you can't add more....

Quote
how do i add custom user rank icons? i put the name of the images rank1 rank2 rank3 rank4 rank5 etc. all the way up to 10. there in gif formate. i put them in a file on my website. i put the url of the file into the custom icon thing in the user ranks. But when i look at the pictures of them on my site. nothing is there

What url you put in "Link (URL) to folder with icons"?
Image name must be rank1.gif, rank2.gif e t.c. Upload into some folder. For example in yourname.ucoz.com/myranks
Insert this url (http://yourname.ucoz.com/myranks) on the ucoz.com/main/?a=users;l=rank

Quote
Aint it possible to remove ranks, or make it less, cause i don't want, or need 10 ranks


It is possible to change User Title and Rank value in the personal profile:

Do not forget that "User's rank" feature should be enabled in Control panel->Users->Module settings

Attachments: 4242900.png(16.9 Kb) · 8490155.jpg(21.8 Kb) · 9511682.jpg(11.4 Kb) · 9533284.jpg(85.0 Kb)

I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 46 | 8:54 AM
Cowz-Go-Moo, it is not possible to change the length of this field.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Cowz-Go-Moo
Posts: 2
Reputation: 0

Message # 47 | 6:57 PM
is there a way i can make it say that for a specific user?
Alpha9539
Posts: 8
Reputation: 0

Message # 48 | 9:51 PM
Quote (xiaoyu)
is there any way so that they can edit it themselves from their profile ?

like instead of asking mods and admins to do it all the time..the prob is..that my site is growing fast enough @_@ and its a lil of a burden to do it all the time..help please? cry

hi how can i hide that titles if he or she is an administrator or moderator. And i wanna its just being admin and mod.

Post edited by Alpha9539 - Wednesday, 2009-11-11, 9:52 PM
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 49 | 9:32 AM
Alpha9539, do you want to hide titles, or ranks, or both? Anyway you need conditional operators to hide them for certain groups.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Alpha9539
Posts: 8
Reputation: 0

Message # 50 | 11:16 PM
oh tnx for the support. but i didn't find any solution for my problem. There's just link scripts on contitional operator, may i didnt understand them. I just want to that moderators and administrator's title will being admin and mod. it wont be normal titles like sirgeant. and i couldnt find any tag for title's. sad sad sad
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 51 | 10:36 AM
Alpha9539, if conditional operators are difficult for you then you can change ranks to custom titles (Admin, Mod or whatever) via user profiles:

Attachments: 4143776.png(8.2 Kb)

I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
-=LPH=-
Posts: 8
Reputation: 0

Message # 52 | 12:38 PM
tnx you sunny that was good for me. cuz am newbie.
CodeResolution
Posts: 1570
Reputation: 58

Message # 53 | 5:23 PM
Hey im having a realy bad problem with my ranking.

Ive uplaoded my own images and they have appeared perfectly, and the rank names and everything, but when I change a member to another rank for e.g,
Rank 1 to Rank 5, they go to rank10 instead.

And all the ranking images are correct and are different but this is still hapening, any questions, please ask, and please help as soon as possible smile

Edit:
Fixed. Sorry about this. I had some of the number of forum psots for the ranks the same


Kind regards,
Elliott.

"The best uCoz" critic since 2007.
Qualified website, branding, print & user interface designer.

I'm on Behance and Twitter.
Post edited by Mistory - Tuesday, 2009-11-17, 5:45 PM
ShiFT
Posts: 40
Reputation: 0

Message # 54 | 9:27 AM
How can I make ranks display on Moderator and Administrator posts as well??

And plz, can't we get more than 10? For my kind of website we need more variety of ranks.. and 10 is nothing.. well, I would be grateful if you could, at least try to. thanks

Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 55 | 9:30 AM
ShiFT, by default ranks are displayed for all groups. And no, you cannot get more than 10 ranks but you can give users personal titles.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Flipperbear404
Posts: 12
Reputation: 0

Message # 56 | 6:35 PM
Ok i did it all i Converted my ico pics to gif and renamed them from rank1 all the way to 10 and put them in a folder called icons and then took the link to the folder and typed it in the Link (URL) to the folder with icons spot and all it does is show a paper cut in half
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 57 | 8:57 AM
Flipperbear404, you mean these pictures - ? They are displaying.
Attachments: 6817849.png(0.5 Kb)

I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
undead
Posts: 15
Reputation: 1

Message # 58 | 10:12 AM
Quote
If you want both a rank and a title being displayed then go to Control Panel - Forum – Module design customization – Appearance of entries:

Code
<?if($USER_TITLE$)?><div class="postRankName">$USER_TITLE$</div><?else?><div class="postRankName">$USER_RANK_NAME$</div><?endif?>

The code shows that either rank or title is displayed, so you should divide this line into two:

Code
<?if($USER_TITLE$)?><div class="postRankName">$USER_TITLE$</div><?endif?>
<?if($USER_RANK_NAME$)?><div class="postRankName">$USER_RANK_NAME$</div><?endif?>

You can assign your own classes.

okie i did all this.... added the above code in 2 lines....
but still it only displays rank name.... not the image.... cry it shows both only in profile....

like u have here in this forum....like below my newbie.... the circles image....
it ain't showing that.... sad i have selected the standard set 1 .... im new to html also so.... kinda ....

help

Post edited by undead - Friday, 2009-12-11, 10:14 AM
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 59 | 10:31 AM
undead, it doesn't display rank image because is most probably displays you user group icon (like you can see here - I don't have rank circles because I have the group icon A). The default code displays only one of them:

Code
<?if($GROUP_ICON$)?><div class="postRankIco">$GROUP_ICON$</div><?else?><div class="postRankIco">$USER_RANK_ICON$</div><?endif?>

If you want to display them both then change the code above into

Code
<?if($GROUP_ICON$)?><div class="postRankIco">$GROUP_ICON$</div><?endif?>
<?if($USER_RANK_ICON$)?><div class="postRankIco">$USER_RANK_ICON$</div><?endif?>

I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Aloyasha
Posts: 75
Reputation: 2

Message # 60 | 0:11 AM
How can i make the rank show under the the user's avatar when a member post? like you know the group image shows but i want to make the rank image show too any help?

PLZ!!!



Click^-^
uCoz Community » uCoz Modules » Site Users » User Ranks and Titles
Search: