uCoz Community » uCoz Modules » Site News & Blogs » Brief and full description, "read more" link
Brief and full description, "read more" link
Natashko
Posts: 3366
Reputation: 171

Message # 1 | 2:52 PM
Site News: Brief and full description

Various ways of displaying entries are possible within Site News module. If you check “Show brief version of the text if it is too long box”, only the part of the brief version will be displayed on the page (the part limited by the option “Number of characters for a brief version”) together with “Read more” link. If you click on the link, the page with entry full text will open.

Another option is to use “Entry brief description“ as a field of a new entry form. In this way the content of “Short description” field will be displayed on the main page (of site or module). And when you click on the entry name, the content of “Entry full text” will be displayed.

If you forbid a user group (for example Guests) to Read entries, they will be able to see only the content of Short description on the main page.
If you forbid a user group (for example Guests) to view the main page, they will not be able to see Short description of the entry.

Site News module doesn't have its own main page as other catalog-modules do. That is why the code responsible for outputting news is added to Home page content by default.
If you have messed up with the code when editing it – the news are not going to be displayed.

The code that outputs news:
Code
<?if($ADD_ENTRY_LINK$)?><div align="right" style="padding-bottom:3px;">[ <a href="$ADD_ENTRY_LINK$">Add entry</a> ]</div><?endif?>$LAST_NEWS$


FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Where can I set the number of characters in Short description?
Control panel->Site News->Module settings-> Number of characters for a brief version
The news ends up with ellipsis (dots) in Short description. Can I substitute it with my own character?
Unfortunately, it is not possible.
Is it possible to output only Entry name on Site News page so that the news itself will be located on the other page?
Yes, it is possible. You need to hide Short description. It can be done by editing Appearance of entries template in Control panel->Design->Design management (templates)->Site news
There are big spaces in the text of full description of the entry. How to fix it?
Most probably you used Word to embed the text. It is highly unrecommended. Copy and paste the text into Notepad and then from the Notepad to the website.
Can I use “Entry brief description” option for one news only?
Unfortunately, it is not possible by means of standard system solutions. Scripts might help you.
Is it possible to display news on the main page in the way they are displayed on the Page with entries full text and its comments?
No. Full text can not be displayed on the main page.
Can I display Entry names only?
Yes, it can be done by means of Informers. See more about them here: http://forum.ucoz.com/forum/37-457-2206-16-1206353355
Another option is to edit Appearance of entries template.
What is the maximum number of characters in the “Entry full text”?
40 000 characters.
Where can I change “Read more” in Short description?
Control panel->Substitution of default phrases->Site News
Which part of Style sheet CSS is responsible for changing the color of “Read more” inscription?
Control panel->Design->Design management (CSS)->class entryReadAllLink
How can I substitute “Read more” inscription with an image?
Control panel->Substitution of default phrases->Site News->substitute the text with HTML code of the image, like:
Code
<img src="...">


Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 76 | 10:03 AM
IoCiScommetto, the template doesn't contain $BODY$. Paste the script after $MESSAGE$.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
fztm
Posts: 11
Reputation: 0

Message # 77 | 7:30 AM
hello admin..
i have problem to changet short brief description..the default is 1500(this too short for me) when i change to 5000 its back to 1500.
please help me to change setting "Text length in the field "Short description" exceeds maximal value " to 5000..
my site is: fztm.ucoz.com
sorry for my english
Thanks
Paradox
Old Guard
Posts: 3284
Reputation: 145

Message # 78 | 8:15 AM
fztm, as far as I am aware this is the maximum capacity for that field. You unfortunately can't increase field maximums past their data capacities.

Hope this helps. happy

Jack of all trades in development, design, strategy.
Working as a Support Engineer.
Been here for 13 years and counting.
fztm
Posts: 11
Reputation: 0

Message # 79 | 8:27 AM
Quote Paradox ()
fztm, as far as I am aware this is the maximum capacity for that field. You unfortunately can't increase field maximums past their data capacities.

Hope this helps.


i dont think so, because in old post i read that admin change this setting for someone..it can change to 9999
Paradox
Old Guard
Posts: 3284
Reputation: 145

Message # 80 | 8:28 AM
fztm, if you wish to request and exception you can contact our Technical Support department either via your Control Panel or http://ucoz.com/contact.

Good luck! wink

Jack of all trades in development, design, strategy.
Working as a Support Engineer.
Been here for 13 years and counting.
fztm
Posts: 11
Reputation: 0

Message # 81 | 8:40 AM
ah..ok..sorry ,you are admin too
thanks for help
joexyz
JOE-vascript
Posts: 1770
Reputation: 78

Message # 82 | 11:07 AM
chrisdvanne, if you can't find it, just simply add it to the end of the CSS file smile
Code
.entryReadAllLink {
   put the properties here;
}

hey i'm joe and i do not work for the company anymore, please contact other staff or tech support
icon by ch-chau

sometimes i lurk here
chrisdvanne
Posts: 31
Reputation: 0

Message # 83 | 1:06 PM
Ref #83
Thanks bigblog, it's working. I hope it will give other members some ideas to improve and personify the design of their own website. smile

I suggest using "display:block" to force a line break and margin-top to add some space if like me you're making it look like a button.

Next questions: is there a way to remove/replace the 3 dots before the "Read more" text and/or the ">>" after it. Also can we edit the Read more text when needed by combining it with the topic of the blog post, like in "Read more about xxx"?
Post edited by chrisdvanne - Friday, 2015-06-26, 1:41 PM
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 84 | 11:14 AM
Quote chrisdvanne ()
Next questions: is there a way to remove/replace the 3 dots before the "Read more" text and/or the ">>" after it. Also can we edit the Read more text when needed by combining it with the topic of the blog post, like in "Read more about xxx"?


You can use one of additional fields for the custom read more text, and then use the field's value for the custom read more button, e.g. something like:

Code
<a href="ENTRY_URL">$OTHER1$</a>


where $OTHER1$ is the value of the additional field #1.

I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
classwaraod
Posts: 1
Reputation: 0

Message # 85 | 8:47 AM
I'm trying to publish a fairly lengthy article in greek on the "site news".

And the following message appears:

The text in the "Entry full text" field exceeds the maximum value

How do i solve this problem?
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 86 | 12:39 PM
classwaraod, how long is the text exactly? The maximum length is 60000 characters.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
freelance7076
Posts: 25
Reputation: 0

Message # 87 | 10:19 AM
Quote bigblog ()
.entryReadAllLink {
   put the properties here;
}


I did this but it's not working. I also don't have the 'Read more' link on anything other than the first blog entry and I don't know why. I haven't altered anything to do with the link apart from just now trying to change the colour. And yes, I did use 'color' in the CSS, not 'colour' - I've been caught by that before!! smile

Added (2016-08-09, 10:19 AM)
---------------------------------------------
Ok - it did work but only after I'd changed the colour for all the site links at the top of the CSS.

I guess trial and error is the only way...

admin1081
Posts: 10
Reputation: 0

Message # 88 | 3:11 AM
Quote Natashko ()
What is the maximum number of characters in the “Entry full text”?
40 000 characters.


I post on BLOG but have a character limit.
I'm posting with 4405 characters but I can't
please show me how to fix it.
thanks a lot. sad
Attachments: 3803157.png (31.5 Kb)
Post edited by admin1081 - Saturday, 2022-09-03, 3:13 AM
vinhomesriversidebdstanl
Posts: 1
Reputation: 0

Message # 89 | 4:53 AM
Bài viết là điều mà tôi đang quan tâm. Cảm ơn chủ thớt. biggrin
Xem thêm về Vinhomes Riverside: http://www.bietthuvinhomesriverside.biz/
uCoz Community » uCoz Modules » Site News & Blogs » Brief and full description, "read more" link
Search: