Page 49 of 51«124748495051»
uCoz Community » Additional Services » Domain Transfer » Domain Transfer: General Discussion (custom domain, subdomains. domain-based email)
Domain Transfer: General Discussion
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456
Message # 1 | 10:25 AM
General Information


It is possible to attach a custom domain to your uCoz website, e.g. mysite.com, mysite.net etc., for FREE.

  • uCoz gives the possibility of full domain management (creation of subdomains, e-mail accounts etc. if a domain is attached by Method 2);
  • you will be able to create domain-based e-mails (e.g. admin@mysite.com );
  • you can buy a custom domain at uCoz Domains or any other domain registrar;
  • you'll be able to register your website in directories which prohibit registration of free websites;
  • you'll be able to enter banner exchange networks (or advertising companies) where only paid domains are allowed;
  • with a custom domain users will never lose your website, even if you change the hosting service, the website URL will remain the same;
  • with a custom domain search engines will give you a higher place in search results.

Domain Attachment FAQ


Question: How can I create a subdomain?

Answer: Please see the following guide: http://forum.ucoz.com/forum/54-435-6436-16-1218803195


Question: Can I attach two domains to my website?

Answer: No, it is not possible.


Question: Can I change the ucoz domain, e.g.: mysite.ucoz.co.uk to mysiteEtc.ucoz.co.uk. Is this allowed and how?

Answer: No, once you have chosen a domain name you cannot change it, you can only create a new website.


Question: How do i setup my uCoz web page in my own domain? I did try but failed. I can see this error message:

The domain djcaner.biz has been parked but not yet attached to the account.
Domain has incorrect set of name servers: ns1.hostavrupa.net, ns2.hostavrupa.net
The following list of the name servers must be applied: ns1.ucoz.net, ns2.ucoz.net


Answer: The system gives you the answer: You must change the name servers in the domain control panel (your account on the website where you registered the domain).



1. How to Attach a Domain by Method 2: http://forum.ucoz.com/forum/54-18149-1
2. How to Attach a Domain by Method 3: http://forum.ucoz.com/forum/54-18150-1


What's the difference between Method 2 and Method 3?


When you use Method 2, your new domain is hosted at uCoz servers. If you use Method 3 - you just change the domain name (to be more precise you just get one more name for your site because it will be accessible by both names - the new one and the old one) but your domain remains hosted at another registrar's servers. So the difference is in the place where your new domain is hosted - either at uCoz or not.

I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Vallina
Posts: 58
Reputation: 0
Message # 721 | 7:51 PM
I switched my site back to uCoz's DNS servers, but now my site keeps becoming unavailable and available randomly throughout the day. (ns1.ucoz.net and ns2.ucoz.net) I am using NameCheap for domain services. When it's down, I also can't log into the CP. Here is my site: http://www.esrohlegends.com/ Any idea why the site keeps crashing? Did I forget to switch anything else aside from DNS servers?
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456
Message # 722 | 11:24 AM
Vallina, what's the address of the uCoz website where the domain is attached?
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Vallina
Posts: 58
Reputation: 0
Message # 723 | 1:55 AM
Sunny, http://www.esrohlegends.ucoz.com/

It's also been over the 24 hour estimate for it to connect completely.
Post edited by Vallina - Wednesday, 2014-03-26, 1:56 AM
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456
Message # 724 | 3:24 PM
Vallina, check now, should be ok.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Vallina
Posts: 58
Reputation: 0
Message # 725 | 7:11 PM
Sunny, thanks! Do you know why it was down?
Sprum
Posts: 2
Reputation: 0
Message # 726 | 10:46 AM
Hello everybody,

I recently bought the domain sprumont.eu and attached it to my sprumont.ucoz.com page.

I am not able to modify sprumont.eu but I can modify and add pages to sprumont.ucoz.com.

I think I did the "domain attachment" properly but I don't know what I am doing wrong...
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456
Message # 727 | 11:05 AM
Sprum, at the moment your website is accessible at http://www.sprumont.eu/ What exactly you can't modify? The website remains the same, it just now has two addresses - the standard one and the attached one.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
Sprum
Posts: 2
Reputation: 0
Message # 728 | 11:38 AM
Thank you for your quick response !

The page you see at sprumont.eu is showing a message from my domain provider...

I want to modify the content (use a free design) add pages...Like I did for http://www.sprumont.ucoz.com/ ...

Create MY webiste using MY domain
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456
Message # 729 | 12:04 PM
Sprum, your website looks like this: http://screencast.com/t/LTyTd3tL44Ae When did you attach the domain? It may take up to 72 hours for the DNS data to be updated, that's why the domain might not be available to you yet. You just need to wait.
I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
bodbreed
Posts: 311
Reputation: 1
Message # 730 | 11:09 PM
I swear I've seen something about this before but I can't find it. Is it possible to point a sub-domain to your forum or store like from "mysite.com/forum" to "forum.mysite.com" or from "mysite.com/store" to "store.mysite.com"?
Paradox
Posts: 3230
Reputation: 145
Message # 731 | 2:35 AM
XO-Ferg, redirection at a server level in that form requires access to the .htaccess file which unfortunately uCoz doesn't provide at the moment.
On an indefinite leave of absence.
jackass
Posts: 278
Reputation: 10
Message # 732 | 5:02 PM
Hello!

Years ago I remember that I created e-mail for my domain (name@mysite.com) for free! Now I don't see free option... there is paid only... Am I missing something?

I have a domain!

Support forum
Paradox
Posts: 3230
Reputation: 145
Message # 733 | 8:35 AM
Hi jackass,

I'd hedge a bet that was through Google Apps. Unfortunately Google have retired the free version of that service due to changes made to their business direction a few years back. uCoz themselves don't provide email hosting as a service at the moment.

As far as I am aware, there aren't currently any reliable free email hosts around anymore. I personally use the bundled email hosting provided as part of my hosting/server provider packages. My best advice would be to search around and see the most cost effective/reliable email hosting solution you can find.

On an indefinite leave of absence.
jackass
Posts: 278
Reputation: 10
Message # 734 | 10:02 AM
Paradox, Thanks!
Support forum
Ochana
Posts: 8
Reputation: 0
Message # 735 | 6:45 AM
But it seems like the domain management panel has an option to create free email which is configured incorrectly but i was still able to receive mail through the emails i had created using my own domain name.
uCoz Community » Additional Services » Domain Transfer » Domain Transfer: General Discussion (custom domain, subdomains. domain-based email)
Page 49 of 51«124748495051»
Search: