uCoz Community » Additional Services » Domain Transfer » Domain Transfer: General Discussion (custom domain, subdomains. domain-based email)
Domain Transfer: General Discussion
Sunny
Posts: 9296
Reputation: 456

Message # 1 | 10:25 AM
General Information


It is possible to attach a custom domain to your uCoz website, e.g. mysite.com, mysite.net etc., for FREE.

  • uCoz gives the possibility of full domain management (creation of subdomains, e-mail accounts etc. if a domain is attached by Method 2);
  • you will be able to create domain-based e-mails (e.g. admin@mysite.com );
  • you can buy a custom domain at uCoz Domains or any other domain registrar;
  • you'll be able to register your website in directories which prohibit registration of free websites;
  • you'll be able to enter banner exchange networks (or advertising companies) where only paid domains are allowed;
  • with a custom domain users will never lose your website, even if you change the hosting service, the website URL will remain the same;
  • with a custom domain search engines will give you a higher place in search results.

Domain Attachment FAQ


Question: How can I create a subdomain?

Answer: Please see the following guide: http://forum.ucoz.com/forum/54-435-6436-16-1218803195


Question: Can I attach two domains to my website?

Answer: No, it is not possible.


Question: Can I change the ucoz domain, e.g.: mysite.ucoz.co.uk to mysiteEtc.ucoz.co.uk. Is this allowed and how?

Answer: No, once you have chosen a domain name you cannot change it, you can only create a new website.


Question: How do i setup my uCoz web page in my own domain? I did try but failed. I can see this error message:

The domain djcaner.biz has been parked but not yet attached to the account.
Domain has incorrect set of name servers: ns1.hostavrupa.net, ns2.hostavrupa.net
The following list of the name servers must be applied: ns1.ucoz.net, ns2.ucoz.net


Answer: The system gives you the answer: You must change the name servers in the domain control panel (your account on the website where you registered the domain).



1. How to Attach a Domain by Method 2: http://forum.ucoz.com/forum/54-18149-1
2. How to Attach a Domain by Method 3: http://forum.ucoz.com/forum/54-18150-1


What's the difference between Method 2 and Method 3?


When you use Method 2, your new domain is hosted at uCoz servers. If you use Method 3 - you just change the domain name (to be more precise you just get one more name for your site because it will be accessible by both names - the new one and the old one) but your domain remains hosted at another registrar's servers. So the difference is in the place where your new domain is hosted - either at uCoz or not.

I'm not active on the forum anymore. Please contact other forum staff.
VZ
Posts: 189
Reputation: 3

Message # 511 | 2:42 AM
Quote (Sunny)
SUBDOMAINS

Here I’ll try to explain you how to create subdomains.

-----------------------------------------------

So, you have attached a domain to your uCoz site, e.g. domain.co.cc instead of your previous domain domain.ucoz.com (by method 2).
However, you have another uCoz site (e.g., start.ucoz.com) and you want it to be accessible by the name start.domain.co.cc

By means of uCoz you can create subdomains easily, just follow the steps, described below.

1. Log into Control Panel (domain.co.cc/admin) -> Domain Attachment

2. Choose SIMPLIFIED MODE

3. You need "SETUP OF SUBDOMAINS"

4. Here you can see several fields:

Subdomain. Here you should enter the name of your subdomain (let it be start in our example).

IP address. For start.domain.co.cc to link to your website start.ucoz.com, you must enter the IP address of the server where start.ucoz.com is located (just select the number of the server, let it be s101. You can see the number in Control Panel -> Admin Bar -> General -> Server name). After you have selected the server, the IP address will appear automatically in the adjacent field (this is 208.100.61.101 for s101).

Click 'Save'. Wait till you see the message "There is no site configured on this address" by the address start.domain.co.cc and then continue.

5. Login to the Control Panel of the site start.ucoz.com where you want to attach your new subdomain start.domain.co.cc. Go to 'Domain Attachment' and choose Method 3.

6. Read the information and enter your new subdomain start.domain.co.cc into the field, click Attach

That's all. Wait for some time and your site start.ucoz.com will be accessible by the name start.domain.co.cc.

So if your server is s108
what do youput for the start.domain.co.cc s108?

Hit that "Thanks" button. :)
In life there's ALWAYS limits but do not plan above them.
Bobo
Posts: 3
Reputation: 0

Message # 512 | 11:23 AM
So I've been hosting from free ucoz stupid I bought from another company and a tomino this domain attached to the free Ucoz after activation domain that I bought and was canceled in your post and now I can not I free to enter and write and change and because no other company.ucoz bit ring the domino that I stuck to my free site that does ucoz as the first free

Added (2011-06-13, 5:23 Am)
---------------------------------------------
HELP!!!!
So I've been hosting from free ucoz stupid I bought from another company and a tomino this domain attached to the free Ucoz after activation domain that I bought and was canceled in your post and now I can not I free to enter and write and change and because no other company.ucoz bit ring the domino that I stuck to my free site that does ucoz as the first free

Natashko
Posts: 3366
Reputation: 171

Message # 513 | 12:10 PM
VZ,
Quote (VZ)
So if your server is s108
what do youput for the start.domain.co.cc s108?

You must enter the IP address of the server where yourwebsite.ucoz.com is located (just select the number of the server. In your case it is 108.). After you have selected the server, the IP address will appear automatically in the adjacent field (this is 213.174.157.136 for s108).
Bobo, unfortunately it is impossible for me to understand you. Please provide the original website name within uCoz web-services to which you are referring to as well as he domain name you want to attach. provide a screenshot of the error text you see.
VZ
Posts: 189
Reputation: 3

Message # 514 | 9:53 PM
can i transfer to dle cause i found free unmetered disk space and and file works

Added (2011-06-16, 3:53 PM)
---------------------------------------------
Quote (VZ)
just select the number of the server.

can i use
Code
<td align="center"><input style="text-align: right; width: 100px;" name="host4" value="music" type="text">.siteurl.com</td>
<td><select style="width: 80px;" name="typ4" size="1"><option value="a">A</option><option value="cname">CNAME</option><option value="mx">MX</option><option value="ns" selected="selected">NS</option><option value="txt">TXT</option><option value="srv">SRV</option></select></td>
<td id="valcell4"><input style="width: 200px;" name="val4" value="ns2.ucoz.net." maxlength="255" type="text"></td>
</tr><tr>
<td align="center"><input style="text-align: right; width: 100px;" name="host5" value="music" type="text">.siteurl.com</td>
<td><select style="width: 80px;" name="typ5" size="1"><option value="a">A</option><option value="cname">CNAME</option><option value="mx">MX</option><option value="ns" selected="selected">NS</option><option value="txt">TXT</option><option value="srv">SRV</option></select></td>

<td id="valcell5"><input style="width: 200px;" name="val5" value="ns1ucoz.net." maxlength="255" type="text"></td>
</tr><tr>

Hit that "Thanks" button. :)
In life there's ALWAYS limits but do not plan above them.
Post edited by VZ - Thursday, 2011-06-16, 9:54 PM
Natashko
Posts: 3366
Reputation: 171

Message # 515 | 9:38 AM
VZ,
Quote (VZ)
can i transfer to dle cause i found free unmetered disk space and and file works

Will you kindly rephrase your question for us to be able to help you and answer it. Please, specify what exactly are you interested in.
Quote (VZ)
can i use

Again - where do you want to use it? What are the final results you need to achive?
DRam604
Posts: 5
Reputation: 0

Message # 516 | 6:50 AM
I'm trying to park my domain www.DRam604.co.cc
But when i park it, it says that the domain parking is completely done, and that it will take 15 mins to take effect on the name.
So i try to load www.DRam604.co.cc after the 15 mins are done, i waited 1 hour and all it says is...

"There is no site configured on this address

If you are the owner of the website and continue to see this error after the domain attachment, then the attachment procedure has not been finished. Finish the procedure in the "Domain attachment" section of the Control Panel.

If the domain has just been attached to the site you must wait 15 minutes."


If someone had the same problem or someone knows the problem, please help me out here.

P.S: The real name to the site is www.DRam604.ucoz.net
Paradox
Posts: 3278
Reputation: 145

Message # 517 | 6:55 AM
DRam604, the time it can take to park/attatch a domain is not necessarily going to be exactly fifteen minutes. I have waited up to three hours for domains to attatch before. If the domain has not attatched within the next 3-5hrs I'd advise retrying the process of parking the domain and so on again. wink

You will also most likely find more information here: http://forum.ucoz.com/forum/37-435-1

Hope this helps, happy

Web Applications Developer
Been here for 8 years and counting.
Visit me at alexmoloney.me.
Pezius
Posts: 8
Reputation: 0

Message # 518 | 4:21 PM
I am reposting this here, as I have been told that my previous post (http://forum.ucoz.com/forum/31-467-78893-16-1309056643) was in the wrong category.

Here's what I have:

  • a site at pezius.ucoz.com
  • a mail server at my house
  • a dynamic DNS provider, no-ip.org, where I manage my DNS records
  • a domain DarrienLopez.com
  • followed the instructions for "Method 3"; creating an A record in my DNS listing pointing the WWW subdomain of DarrienLopez.com to 195.216.243.51



Here is what I am trying to accomplish. I would like:

  • WWW.DarrienLopez.com to point to my ucoz site at pezius.ucoz.com
  • DarrienLopez.com to resolve to the mail server at my house
  • to retain my dynamic DNS provider of no-ip.org
  • have only the WWW. subdomain pointing to ucoz
  • have all other subdomains point to my server (as they currently do)


Unluess I'm misunderstanding something, that is what the Method 3 is supposed to do, however when I browse to www.DarrienLopez.com I get a message from ucoz saying that there is not site associated with that domain.

Update: at present, I can't access pezius.ucoz.com at all. I can see it in Webtop, however.
Attachments: 1278219.png(18.7 Kb)
Post edited by Pezius - Tuesday, 2011-06-28, 4:23 PM
Natashko
Posts: 3366
Reputation: 171

Message # 519 | 10:25 AM
Pezius,
Quote (Pezius)
WWW.DarrienLopez.com to point to my ucoz site at pezius.ucoz.com

To achieve it you need to park this domain to your uCoz website. The following list of DNS servers must be applied: ns1.ucoz.net, ns2.ucoz.net. You should do it in the Control Panel of the domain name (Personal account) where you have purchased this domain. Indicate the following list of DNS servers in your Personal account and then go to uCoz website Control panel and click Prak domain in Domain attachment section. Remember, you need to wait 12 hours after you have made some changes in the domain name settings.
Quote (Pezius)
DarrienLopez.com to resolve to the mail server at my house

It can be done only after this domain name is successfully attached to your uCoz website. See more about itt here: http://forum.ucoz.com/forum/37-435-6439-16-1218808592
Quote (Pezius)
have only the WWW. subdomain pointing to ucoz

I am not sure I understand what you mean by "WWW. subdomain". Please rephrase it.
Quote (Pezius)
have all other subdomains point to my server (as they currently do)

Again rephrase "point to my server" part please. If you have attached your domain to uCoz website, you may create subdomain. See more about them here: http://forum.ucoz.com/forum/37-435-6436-16-1218803195
Pezius
Posts: 8
Reputation: 0

Message # 520 | 3:34 PM
Natashko,

I am sorry, I feel that you are completely missunderstanding everything that I am trying to do. cry And I am only trying to do this, because the instructions said that Method 3 is supposed to achieve this.

Quote (Natashko)
you need to park this domain to your uCoz website. The following list of DNS servers must be applied


NO. I DO NOT want my domain's DNS records to point to ucoz's name servers; I want my DNS to have ONE A record that points ONLY the , because that will break the connection to my server at home.

Quote (Natashko)
Again rephrase "point to my server"

Point as in resolve, to, as in to, my as in I won, and in my physical possesion, server as in a computer serving services and files to the internet. I'm not sure how else to rephrase this.

Quote (Natashko)
I am not sure I understand what you mean by "WWW. subdomain".

lets pretend my 2nd level domain is domain...:
  • domain.com
  • www.domain.com
  • mail.domain.com
  • hell.domain.com
  • pleasehelp.domain.com
    in this example, www, mail, hell, and pleasehelp are all subdomains (3rd level domains).
    I can create an A record to cause each of these to resolve to a different IP address. This allows the domain owner to have multiple different resources for handling differnet request types. I manage these through my domain registrar and name service (no-ip.com). Again I can have a differnet IP address for each of these. I ONLY WANT ONE of these to point to the IP of my ucoz site.

    I really don't have any idea how else to put this. Everything you are telling me to do, is from "Method 2"


    What I am trying to make work is "Method 3"


    I have followed these very simple instructions, and am getting "site not found" Can anyone understand what I am doing?
    Attachments: 6364395.png(14.2 Kb) · 6557160.png(16.2 Kb)
  • VZ
    Posts: 189
    Reputation: 3

    Message # 521 | 1:00 AM
    can i transfer allfiles to dle for free?

    Quote (Pezius)
    Will you kindly rephrase your question for us to be able to help you and answer it. Please, specify what exactly are you interested in.


    Code
    x10.hosting.com

    Quote (Pezius)
    Again - where do you want to use it? What are the final results you need to achive?

    create a html file and you will see ☺☻☼☼☼☼☼☼☼☼

    Hit that "Thanks" button. :)
    In life there's ALWAYS limits but do not plan above them.
    Post edited by VZ - Friday, 2011-07-01, 1:07 AM
    Natashko
    Posts: 3366
    Reputation: 171

    Message # 522 | 10:27 AM
    VZ,
    Quote (VZ)
    can i transfer allfiles to dle for free?

    Yes, you can.
    1. Create a backup copy of your project in the "Backup" section.
    2. Download absolutely all files and databases of your site.
    3. Employ a programmer or write yourself a script for converting databases into necessary format and distributing files among necessary folders.
    And please do not post messages that are not related to the thread
    -VishaL-
    Posts: 48
    Reputation: 1

    Message # 523 | 5:18 PM
    Hello When applied name servers ns1.ucoz.net, ns2.ucoz.net in http://www.co.cc/ website i am getting this error..

    normal setup


    But When I click on set up button i am getting this


    spamhaus blocking ns1.ucoz.net name servers
    http://www.spamhaus.org/sbl/sbl.lasso?query=SBL71948

    Animorph
    Posts: 2856
    Reputation: 189

    Message # 524 | 11:56 PM
    -VishaL-, I do not know alot about the blocklist but if you can get in the blocklist ther emust be a removal procedure , Try to find it and de-block it if its possible.
    To busy building a passive income online ;)
    -VishaL-
    Posts: 48
    Reputation: 1

    Message # 525 | 1:53 AM
    @Animorph.... Name servers ns2.ucoz.net working fine they not block ns2.ucoz.net so can i use only single ns2.ucoz.net
    uCoz Community » Additional Services » Domain Transfer » Domain Transfer: General Discussion (custom domain, subdomains. domain-based email)
    Search: